Cottage Dill Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
very good! a little too large for my breadmaker, so I'll need to scale down a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I've been looking for this recipe! Thank you! The recipe as written is wonderful... but, I did add more dill to suit our family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Used 1 c whole wheat and 2 c AP flour, dry buttermmilk powder, 1.5 T dill weed, 1 t powdered garlic, 1 T gluten, 2 t yeast. Nice, savory taste and texture. Made 12 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is the best bread I've ever made in my bread machine. I followed the recipe except I didn't have any dried minced onion (used onion powder) and used dill weed instead of seed. Yummy, yummy. Light and very soft bread. Makes really good toast and great sandwiches. Love it!!! Also forgot to say the yeast measurement is definitely wrong. Used 2 1/4 teaspoons. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I used 2 tablespoons bread machine yeast and about 1/4 cup more cottage cheese and the bread was awesome! Very flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This bread was delicious! I was waiting impatiently until it got done, the aroma filled the kitchen. Very light, crispy and flavorful. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Loved it, can't get enough. Made as written, except I baked in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ferrero

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This bread is so good I cannot make any other kind of bread. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Great bread! Reminds me of caraway rye bread (although the taste is subtly different). Made this to accompany tonight's main dish, Italian Vegetable Soup (Jackie). The two complemented each other very well! I went all out and purchased milk powder, dill seed (found it at my local specialty spice shop; 2 oz. was only $.69!!!), margarine (never use it - I like the taste of butter much better) and cottage cheese since I rarely keep these items on hand. I am SOOO glad I did! I think it made a HUGE difference. I set my bread machine on the "white" cycle, 1.5 loaf size, medium crust. My machine tends to think that medium crust means DARK crust (lol), so I think I'll try the light crust setting next time (but my fiance really enjoys the darker, crunchy crust...). Oh, and I only used 2 t yeast (one packet is pretty much 2 t worth anyways); 2 T is DEFINITELY too much!!!It's beginning to cool off here in the Windy City (it's been a wierd summer in general). Steaming bowfuls of soup and warm bread were just the ticket :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, S. Beavin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Very simple. I used my Kitchen Aid to make this bread which helped a bit. I proofed the yeast with the warm water and sugar in the mixer bowl for ten minutes. After the ten minutes, I added the melted butter(I don't often cook with margerine, so I don't keep it on hand. I like the taste of butter better.) and cottage cheese and mixed it well with the paddle before adding in all the dry ingredients I wisked together. No dill seed, I used about a 1/2 tsp of dill weed and I'm currently out of dried minced onion, so I used 1 tsp. onion powder. I did add about a tbsp. of oil after all the dry ingredients were combined to help the dough form into a ball and to get it to jump on the hook. I let the hook knead the dough for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a greased bowl covered with a Cover-Up for about an hour. After the hour, I formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again in the loaf pan for another hour or so. I baked it for about 25 minutes at 350*, which is when it smelled done. I snuck a piece......VERY GOOD. I like it's uniqueness. I plan on serving it with Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States