Cottage Cheese Spinach Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I followed some of the other reviews. Because I was pressed for time, I seasoned my breasts with cayenne and threw them on the Foreman grill for 3 mins per side. I sautéed my spinach and onion in a tiny bit of EVOO and added the 2tbsp butter at the end. Then I mixed in the cottage cheese, salt and pepper and just placed it on top of the chicken. I butterflied the breast but just end up making 2 pieces out of one. It was incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buff Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a great base recipe. I opted to use chicken thighs instead because I like the dark meat much better. I removed the skin first. I added garlic and shredded cheddar cheese to the mixture and substituted with fresh spinach. I used Mccormick's Jerk seasoning, garlic pepper,ginger powder & poultry season on my chicken. I omitted the butter & wrapped the chicken with bacon! It did cook a little longer than the original recipe called for, but it turned out a lil more fattening but a Lot more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I add a little more cottage cheese and butterflies the chicken, cut them apart and flattened them a bit to cut the cooking time to 25 minutes. My kids 6 years and 1year loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This dish is just plain weird. I'm a fan of all the ingredients, but they don't work together. After reading the other reviews, I first sauteed the spinach and onion in butter, plus added extra cayenne for zip. There's something about hot cottage cheese that doesn't do it for me, and as much as I like cajun spice, to my palate, it doesn't belong here. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Great blend of flavors and can be done low-cal. We sauteed fresh spinach in olive oil and pounded the chicken flat as it's easier to fold over that way. No need to drizzle with butter, as the dish has plently of flavor with the seasonings and cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
VERY DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe and it turned out so delicious along with the fettuccine alfredo and steamed broccoli, very healthy yet plentiful for me being a savory and hearty person! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used boneless thighs because that's what I had on hand. Obviously breasts would be better because not much filling would fit inside smaller chicken pieces. Layered the extra filling on top of everything. I used a 6 oz. package of fresh baby spinach and reduced it along with the onion and some garlic. Cooked at 375 degrees for around 40 minutes. It was superb! I served it with rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pretty good, but the cottage cheese really had no taste. Next time I'm going to make three changes when I make this. I'm going to add garlic bread the chicken and substitute ricotta. I think that will be just the fix this needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jz040488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I searched "cottage cheese" and "chicken" and found this so forgive the following substitions: Left out the onion added some softened cream cheese added a large clove of garlic created makeshift cajun seasoning with a blend of salt, freshly ground pepper, garlic powder, paprika, chili powder, crushed red pepper, McCormick's Fiery 5 Pepper totally forgot the butter HOWEVER with all these mediocre subs the chicken came out fanTAStic. My only recommendation is that you blend the cottage cheese, onion, and w/e else you added, then FOLD in spinach - better appearance. Served with plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great chicken recipe! I almost didn't make this dish tonight because we got home kind of late from running errands, and I thought this recipe would take a while to make since it's kind of "fancy". It is so simple and doesn't take much time at all. I think the prep time only took about 15 minutes or so and then popped it in the oven. I am so glad that I decided to make this recipe because it was loved by all. The only thing I changed was the baking temperature and time because I have found that this works perfect for getting a nice, juicy chicken without overbaking - 375 for 35 minutes. Works with every baked chicken dish I have ever made! I have seen a lot of reviewers say that they didn't use the Cajun spice mix because they thought it didn't go with the spinach/cottage cheese mixture, but it gives it a little kick along with the creaminess. Thank you for this wonderful dish that will be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States