Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow, this is increDibly good for meatless meatloaf. I subsituted the oil with a small can of tomato sauce and one time I made it I used pistachios for the nuts. I've also added taco seasoning, you can really play with it, it's a great base. It's a good meatloaf, my kids didn't even know it didn't have any meat in it and they were surprised when I told them after dinner. My local grocery store marks the big containers of cottage cheese down to 79 cents on the sell by date, so now I buy them and make 2 loaves at once, eating one for dinner and saving the other for sandwiches. This makes dinner very inexpensive so THANK YOU! I would suggest increasing the amount of cornflakes by a cup or so and let it sit for a few minutes after cooking as it will firm up more as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Foreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe, I added about 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese and also sprinkled cheese and breadcrumbs on top. It came out a little nutty flavored so i think i'll reduce the amount of walnuts next time. Overall I'm satisfied and I know other veggie heads out there will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really loved this recipe for a meatless loaf. used oatbran flakes and had to cook a little longer (about 20-25 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I LOVE this receipe. I have played with the recipe many times and my final combination is: 24 oz Small curd cottage cheese, 4 cups crushed oat/bran/corn flakes, 4 beaten eggs, 1 envelope of meat loaf flavoring, 1/4 cup apple sauce or oil, chopped green peppers, chopped onions and a large can of tomato sauce. I mix everything together, saving 1/3 of the tomato sauce for the top. Put in casserole dish and pour remaining tomato sauce on top. I have to cook at 350 degrees for at least 70-80 minutes. The (meatless) loaf is great immediately, but gets much firmer after refrigeration and reheating. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I thought this recipe was really good. The reason I gave it four stars is I thought the taste of the cereal was a bit much. It could have been the type of cereal I used. My 1 1/2 year old loved it, but my meat-eater husband hated it. I thought it was even better the next day as a " meatloaf" sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was so easy and everyone loved it. Including my skeptical meat-eating DH. I didn't have enough corn flakes so used plain bread crumbs with extra cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very easy to throw together, and pretty tasty. Served with some mushroom gravy, which enhanced the flavour. Baked 60 minutes, as suggested by others, and it certainly wasn't overdone. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
It wasn't the greatest, I will try it again maybe with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I looked for a vegetarian recipe and found this one. However, I have not yet found a vegetarian cottage cheese (cottage cheese may contain gelatin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Awesome! Tastes great and has great texture. Followed recipe exactly. Cooked for 65 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States