Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Well, my rating comes with a huge asterisk. I omitted the oil, except about 1 Tbsp which I used to saute about 6 oz. of chopped portobello mushrooms in before combining with the other ingredients. I only used 3 eggs, 2 Cups of cornflakes,and it was very good. Lots of my friends who are vegetarians or have gluten allergies really liked it, too. Recently, I was out of onion soup mix, so instead I used: 1 tsp Better than Bouillon, chicken flavor (it's like a stock concentrate), 1 Tbsp minced dried onion, 1 tsp McCormick Italian blend of seasoning (mine has Marjoram, Thyme, Rosemary, Savory, Sage, Oregano and Basil), 1 tsp Worcesteshire sauce, 1 tsp garlic salt. I liked this even better, because it wasn't as salty, but still had lots of flavor. The reviews about it looking terrible are true, but the taste really is worth it. I first used it when I needed a vegetarian meal that could be prepared ahead and frozen to take to a friend. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is really good! Husband really loved it. We didn't expect it to be like ground beef meatloaf, but it is reminiscent (probably more so for those of us who have been vegetarians for a while). Next time I'll try it with half the oil and no nuts. Very good with mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mesic, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Like other reviewers I don't know why I tried this but it was very good. I followed suggestions from the others and gave it a BBQ flavor with BBQ sauce in the pan and then served extra BBQ sauce along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family of picky eaters love this - except I have to leave out the walnuts or the six year old makes faces and picks them all out! Also, I just use regular large-curd cottage cheese, and it comes out just fine. A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
BUT FOR A GOOD TAKE ON THE SAME RECIPE I USED CARMALIZED ONIONS INSTEAD OF SOUP MIX, LITTLE KETCHUP AND A CUPCAKE TIN.. TOPPED WITH KETCHUP AND A LITTLE BROWN SUGAR AND THEY ARE TO DIE FOR..GOOD HOT OR COLD.. COOKING TIME ALOT LESS, AND BEAUTIFUL TO LOOK AT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Because I changed it a bit. I'm only giving it 4 stars. Wow! Even my carniverous man couldn't believe it was meatless. I don't use onion soup mix (way too much sodium) so I used what I put in my real meatloaf-finely chopped onion (1/2 cup), ketchup (2 Tbsps.), mustard (1 Tbsp), and worcestershire sauce (1 Tbsp.)I also used 2 1/2 cups cornflakes as another reviewer suggested and only 2 Tbsps. oil Baked for a full hour. Let it sit for a while so it sets. Will make over and over again, especially when I can get the reduced price cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
All I can say is wow.  We JUST ate this and although we still can't figure out what possesed us to try it, we really did like it. I'm getting ready to pack the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow. I didn't realized it said "creamed" cottage cheese until I got home from the store w/small curd. Dunno know if it's the same or not, but it worked. We did the ketchup/BBQ mixture over the top. Can't find loaf pan so used round glass casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUMMALUVN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was just as all the five-star reviewers described: Absolutely delicious and loved by every member of my family, including my meat-loving husband who didn't realize it was meatless. Can't wait to make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My husband and I have been on the lookout for a meatloaf alternative for sometime now. I'm still not sure how we found this recipe, but I'm glad we did!!! I love it and so does my husband. I do agree with everyone else, you have to cook it for at least an hour before it's done, but its well worth the wait!! The only problem I have with this recipe is the sodium content. It's a little high for us. I've been looking for a lower sodium onion soup mix, but have yet to find one. If anyone knows of where I can find any, or how to make some at home, please let me know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States