Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Not my favorite. I added some sliced cooked mushrooms and green onions to the mix and used chopped mixed nuts, since it's what I had on-hand. Not very meatloaf-y, but reasonably tasty. Just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
At first I was hesitant to try this dish but my husband and even my KIDS RAVED at how wonderful it turned out. Of course, I did not tell them that the meatloaf they were eating had no MEAT in it until they commented how much they liked it. My 10 year old wants it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is surprisingly good, actually. It's obviously not as good as Mom's meatloaf, but tasty all the same. I used low fat cottage cheese (small curd) and almonds chopped as finely as possible in place of the walnuts. Also seasoned as I would a traditional meatloaf. My favorite veg meatloaf is still Amy's frozen one, though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was great! So much more flavor than i expected! I put half a red onion and a red bell pepper in ours and it tasted great. I think it would be good without, and I probably won't put the red pepper in again, but everyone loved it. Our german exchange student even asked for the recipe to take home since she's a vegetarian and this was a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I left the oil out, used egg whites and fat free cottage cheese, and the recipe still tasted great. NIce high protein option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have been trying to make a meatless meat loaf for my husband all our married life and finally - success! He loved this recipe. I followed other reviewers suggestions and adjusted the recipe a bit (less oil, more cornflakes, no walnuts, added frozen chopped spinach, garlic powder & crushed red pepper flakes). I also had to bake it for about an hour & twenty minutes. We will make this again & again. Thank you for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
YUM. i wanted to make this as healthy as possible, so i just used a dash of oil, nonfat cottage cheese, and egg whites. i don't like walnuts, so i replaced them by adding about half a cup of more cornflakes. i could seriously eat this entire thing tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Well, my rating comes with a huge asterisk. I omitted the oil, except about 1 Tbsp which I used to saute about 6 oz. of chopped portobello mushrooms in before combining with the other ingredients. I only used 3 eggs, 2 Cups of cornflakes,and it was very good. Lots of my friends who are vegetarians or have gluten allergies really liked it, too. Recently, I was out of onion soup mix, so instead I used: 1 tsp Better than Bouillon, chicken flavor (it's like a stock concentrate), 1 Tbsp minced dried onion, 1 tsp McCormick Italian blend of seasoning (mine has Marjoram, Thyme, Rosemary, Savory, Sage, Oregano and Basil), 1 tsp Worcesteshire sauce, 1 tsp garlic salt. I liked this even better, because it wasn't as salty, but still had lots of flavor. The reviews about it looking terrible are true, but the taste really is worth it. I first used it when I needed a vegetarian meal that could be prepared ahead and frozen to take to a friend. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is really good! Husband really loved it. We didn't expect it to be like ground beef meatloaf, but it is reminiscent (probably more so for those of us who have been vegetarians for a while). Next time I'll try it with half the oil and no nuts. Very good with mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes! Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Mesic, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Like other reviewers I don't know why I tried this but it was very good. I followed suggestions from the others and gave it a BBQ flavor with BBQ sauce in the pan and then served extra BBQ sauce along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States