Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I tried this and have fallen in love with it. You have to try it if you like a "meat loaf" kind of mid west, diner, comfort food. I baked it for 60 min. in a loaf pan, recipe as written. It would be great with green beans, gravy, roll, and apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Folck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and it is fantastic! It looks, smells and tastes just like a traditional meatloaf. I prefer to make my own version of "onion soup mix" to limit the sodium & to incorporate fresh onions into the mixture. During the final 10 minutes of cooking, I brush the top with ketchup and increase the oven heat to 500 degrees. This creates a nice, caramelized topping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yes this does sound like a weird combo but it actually works. I left out the oil , used egg whites, and used 2% cottage cheese to make it low fat. I used regular corn flakes and no nuts. I put everything in a food processor until it was a little less chunky and put it in a casserole dish. My boyfriend thought it smelled good when cooking and I ate it the next day for dinner. Not bad, but I would only use HALF of the onion soup mix and taste it before using the whole packet. I found mine to be a bit too salty. I think it would be cool to puree some carrots in this or use spinach or even mix in brocoli to the mixture. Tasty and vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
THIS WAS AWESOME! I was so skeptical. I creamed the cottage cheese in the blender. I also put the walnuts in the blender. I lowered the amount of oil. I used a recipe online for the onion mix 4 tsp. instant beef bouillon granules 8 tsp. dried onion 1 tsp. onion powder 1/4 tsp. celery seed or celery salt Equals 1 package store bought Lipton onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
With a resident vegetarian, its hard for me to find things that we both like to eat. This is an inexpensive, easy and healthy dish that my husband loves. It is unique and it doesn't taste like meat at all but still good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love it! I Dont use any oil to cut down on fat and also use only 1/2 cup nuts to cut fat and calories. 2 cups of cereal works better for me.(I use Special K). I also added onions and peppers for more flavor. I will play with spices next time i make it. Italian seasoning with garlic salt would be great and top it with ketchup, brown sugar and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Okay, I never take the time to review a recipe, but I was looking for some type of a meat dish to fix for Thanksgiving dinner for my vegetarian kids, and the reveiws for this were so good I had to give it a try. And after trying, I had to review it! I am totally impressed, and can't wait for my kids to try it. After reading some of the other reviews, I did alter it slightly. First of all, I used my food processor and creamed fat free cottage cheese, b/c that's what I had. Then I used it to chop up about 3/4 c. of almonds, b/c that's what I had. I also used it to finely chop corn flakes, until I had 2 1/2 c. I only added about 2 T. oil and 1/2 pkg onion soup mix. I put it all in the food processor, added a little steak dust, some Kitchen Bouquet and a little liquid smoke and some bbq sauce and garlic pepper. Mixed it all well, poured into 2 smaller loaf pans, baked at 350 35 min, put a little more bbq sauce on top and broiled 5 min. Took it out, cooled it, and was WOWED with how much it tasted like meat loaf. I was a little concerned about the almonds, but like another reviewer said, I think it gives it more that beefy texture. Don't be afraid to try this recipe. It can be altered a lot of ways, but it surprisingly delicious! Next time, I may add some veggies just for more nutrition. Thank you, Kittyann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is probably the cookiest recipe I've ever tried, but man if it didn't just shock the heck out of me and the family... absolutely wonderful! I did as other reviewers and cut the oil to 1/8 cup and used only 2 eggs. Also I didn't use a full packet of onion soup mix, half was PLENTY. I added mushrooms, onions, garlic, and served with mashed taters and mushroom gravy. Truely a great meatless meal that filled and satisfied us all. I WILL make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
What do I say that has not already been said. For those who gave it a bad rating guess you need to look at a recipe and first decide if the ingrediants match your taste. If you don't like walnuts then this is not the dish for you. My opinion, always look at a recipe as a guide not an absolute. Thank you Kittyann for a fun and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Great recipe, but too salty for me. The consistancy was great and the combination of ingredients was wonderful, but perhaps next time I'll fry my own onions and season myself with pepper and italian blend or something. Thanks for the unique combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States