Cottage Cheese Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe has been a favorite of mine since I found it here 8 years ago. I've served it to meat eaters and vegetarians and both seem to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Despite the scores of reviews telling me so, I was still surprised when this interesting mix of ingredients turned into something impressive! In lieu of own 'onion soup' mix to make it a bit more natural...I used 2ts thyme, a vege boullion cube, 1/2 c diceed onion & 2tb dried onion. Following the advice of another reviewer, I also brushed the top with ketchup/BBQ sauce in the last 10 mins of baking. Thanks for posting - a definite 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This definitely doesn't taste like meat, but I eat mostly vegetarian so I didn't care. Personally, I thought this was a 3 star recipe as is, but I did make a few changes. I used home-made onion soup mix, and I processed all of the ingredients in the food processor. I am going to make this again, but when you google "cottage cheese roast" there are quite a few other recipes that call for special k. Next time I'm going to only process the walnuts and try just mixing the ingredients. While it did taste good, it kind of tasted like stuffing. I'm definitely going to try this one again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I tried this and have fallen in love with it. You have to try it if you like a "meat loaf" kind of mid west, diner, comfort food. I baked it for 60 min. in a loaf pan, recipe as written. It would be great with green beans, gravy, roll, and apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Folck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and it is fantastic! It looks, smells and tastes just like a traditional meatloaf. I prefer to make my own version of "onion soup mix" to limit the sodium & to incorporate fresh onions into the mixture. During the final 10 minutes of cooking, I brush the top with ketchup and increase the oven heat to 500 degrees. This creates a nice, caramelized topping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Yes this does sound like a weird combo but it actually works. I left out the oil , used egg whites, and used 2% cottage cheese to make it low fat. I used regular corn flakes and no nuts. I put everything in a food processor until it was a little less chunky and put it in a casserole dish. My boyfriend thought it smelled good when cooking and I ate it the next day for dinner. Not bad, but I would only use HALF of the onion soup mix and taste it before using the whole packet. I found mine to be a bit too salty. I think it would be cool to puree some carrots in this or use spinach or even mix in brocoli to the mixture. Tasty and vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
THIS WAS AWESOME! I was so skeptical. I creamed the cottage cheese in the blender. I also put the walnuts in the blender. I lowered the amount of oil. I used a recipe online for the onion mix 4 tsp. instant beef bouillon granules 8 tsp. dried onion 1 tsp. onion powder 1/4 tsp. celery seed or celery salt Equals 1 package store bought Lipton onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
With a resident vegetarian, its hard for me to find things that we both like to eat. This is an inexpensive, easy and healthy dish that my husband loves. It is unique and it doesn't taste like meat at all but still good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love it! I Dont use any oil to cut down on fat and also use only 1/2 cup nuts to cut fat and calories. 2 cups of cereal works better for me.(I use Special K). I also added onions and peppers for more flavor. I will play with spices next time i make it. Italian seasoning with garlic salt would be great and top it with ketchup, brown sugar and worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Okay, I never take the time to review a recipe, but I was looking for some type of a meat dish to fix for Thanksgiving dinner for my vegetarian kids, and the reveiws for this were so good I had to give it a try. And after trying, I had to review it! I am totally impressed, and can't wait for my kids to try it. After reading some of the other reviews, I did alter it slightly. First of all, I used my food processor and creamed fat free cottage cheese, b/c that's what I had. Then I used it to chop up about 3/4 c. of almonds, b/c that's what I had. I also used it to finely chop corn flakes, until I had 2 1/2 c. I only added about 2 T. oil and 1/2 pkg onion soup mix. I put it all in the food processor, added a little steak dust, some Kitchen Bouquet and a little liquid smoke and some bbq sauce and garlic pepper. Mixed it all well, poured into 2 smaller loaf pans, baked at 350 35 min, put a little more bbq sauce on top and broiled 5 min. Took it out, cooled it, and was WOWED with how much it tasted like meat loaf. I was a little concerned about the almonds, but like another reviewer said, I think it gives it more that beefy texture. Don't be afraid to try this recipe. It can be altered a lot of ways, but it surprisingly delicious! Next time, I may add some veggies just for more nutrition. Thank you, Kittyann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States