Cottage Cheese Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a very good recipe and I would make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
this is awsome my grandma used to make these and havent had them in years,easy recipe,she served them with a creamed gravy which i havent been able to find or make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
You can make your own cottage cheese. Buy a half gallon of buttermilk. Cook it on low till you can spoon out curds.(It takes maybe 2 hours). Cook on high just till it boils, take off heat and let it stand for 3 hours. Use a colander with small holes to seperate the cheese from the juice. Ready to use. I also use milk instead of water for the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
my family has been making perogies for forever and this recipe gives me a different edge. I will use this again. I always make hundreds at a time foe all my family. They love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I don't know if all perogy recipes are like this one but if they are I will probably never make perogies again. I found the dough incredibly hard to roll out. Very stiff. It tasted okay but not really worth the effort it took to make them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN7258

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I switched up the filling a little (using what I had on hand- leftovers) and these were pretty darn good. Can never have too much cheese though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My family has made the cottage cheese perogies for years. We also make them with stewed prunes. The pasta, sweetness of the prunes and melted butter drizzled over....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
These are perfect!!! Just like my Mennonite grandma used to make. The only change I made was blending 1/2 of the cottage cheese mix with 2 tablespoons of cream and 1/2 tsp of pepper until creamy and then combining it with the other 1/2 of the cheese. These are amazing served with a cream gravy and strawberries. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
After making, I had to call my grandma and ask what I did wrong because they didn't taste "right" (the way she makes them and I'm used to). Use milk instead of water in the dough. It makes a world of difference. Also, our family boils them them fries them in butter and then boils them again in some milk or cream (depending on how healthy-ish we are feeling). I love them fried in lots of butter then covered in warm cream as a treat. If I'm particularly lazy, I won't even fill them, I will make the dough, cut it and fry it in butter, then add the fried dough pieces, cottage cheese and warm milk in a bowl and eat :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachBabe36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is an awesome recipe! Salt generously! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States