Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This recipe actually turned out really good. It does sound odd but it tasted really good with a few changes: 1) I used my food processor for the cottage cheese because I prefer without the lumps. 2) I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. 3) Used whole wheat flour instead of white. 4) I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. I didn't use any sugar because with the maple syrup was enought for my taste. It's a great breakfast with a great source of protein and no fat, if you use fat free cottage cheese. Thanks for the recipe Jennifer, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I've been making these for years using 1/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of the 1/3 cup white. Everyone is surprised that they taste so good, even those who hate cottage cheese! Great plain or with a bit of orange marmalade or jam. My only indulgence is to butter the griddle a teeny bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made these for my family yesterday...my kids are usually pretty picky, but even they said these pancakes were great!! I like the recipe because it's so easy, and it packs a lot of protein into pancakes. I'm always looking for fun, new pancake and waffle recipes, and I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very tender and delicious. I used an immersion blender to smooth the cottage cheese before mixing in the other ingredients. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, added a pinch of salt and a bit of vanilla. A nice, healthy breakfast option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These really taste like a cheese blintz without any of the fuss. I absolutely loved this recipe. They are delicious eaten plain, but any fruit compote, jelly, jam, or syrup would be inspiring. I added a pinch of salt to make sure the flavour wasn't flat. And you could easily turn these into a desert pastry by adding a small amount of sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Traynor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
So fluffy and delicious. It's also high in protein and low in carbs. Next time I will substitute ground rolled oats for the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I submitted the original recipe, and have loved all the comments because now I love these even more with the changes! I think it now deserves 5 stars, for the improved taste, quality and relative healthiness. Here's how I now make these: 1) substitute whole wheat flour for the white; 2) substitute unsweetened applesauce for the oil; 3) add some cinnamon and vanilla. They taste better this way, plus I feel better about feeding them to my child. Oh yes, and the amount as written does NOT make enough... always at least double the recipe. Actually when I make these, I usually make a 4x recipe and that results in a pretty normal amount of pancakes for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This combination of ingredients gives a final texture similar to a quiche. Used 1 cup 1% cottage cheese, whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, 4 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1.5 tbsp honey. Blended everything in a blender to make a smooth batter. Transferred to a sprayed frying pan and topped with handful of blueberries. Baked in oven for 15 minutes at 375F. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Excellent! Diabetic-friendly recipe. Picture doesn't do them justice. Everyone I shared this recipe with loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cold Springs, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
EDIT: I've now made this 6-7 times in the last few months and have made it much better for us with minor changes. I follow as directed but add 1 t. baking powder and a splash of milk. To cook I start with a hot pan and turn the temp down to med at best, cover w/ the lid slightly ajar, and cook more slowly than a usual pancake. This produces a terrific, low carb, high protein pancake that is not quite so flat or blintz like. I usually get 5 pancakes, about 5-6" across. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Delicious - and very low carb. Four servings? - no way! I should have known when I looked at the ingredient list that this was not going to be enough for 4 - it was 2 servings at best. The commenter who compared them to cheese blintzes was right - they have that consistency, which we happen to like; we did not find them to be fluffy at all (which was ok). We like pancakes and usually have them over the weekend - this is a new and different one that everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States