Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These are wonderful - my mom used to make these when I was a kid. I use 1/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of the 1/3 cup AP flour and melted, cooled butter in place of the vegetable oil. (They are good with the original ingredients but I avoid both these days.) I also prefer all fruit or jam instead of the syrup, or really, just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Mmmm....just made these ahead of time for b-fast tomorrow. Hubby is diabetic and had him try a bite. I tried a bite. These are really very, very good and you really cannot tell that cottage cheese is the main ingredient. I used my Magic Bullet to "cream" the cottage cheese in batches. Then mixed everything listed together, minus one of the eggs. I added a little vanilla extract, a pinch of salt, and a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter and cooked up as instructed. These are quite tasty, full of protein, and great for those watching blood sugar levels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Easy and pretty darn good. Like another reviewer said, tasted like cheese blintzes without the effort. Only modification I made was to add a dash of salt. Next time, try subbing whole wheat flour, and add some ground flax. And add fruit on top! I tried my first batch with maple syrup and also with cherry jam, but I thought the jam was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These were edible but not making them again. They had a weird aftertaste to us. (I'm assuming from the cottage cheese). They were better tasting to me with dark chocolate chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
simple, nutritious and delicious. i also added vanilla and cinnamon, changed the AP flour to whole wheat flour and used apple sauce in lieu of oil. I did use butter for the pan though. also, i recommend using the quarter cup size for the pancake as it makes it easier to turn over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Simple and tasty with syrup or jam or maybe we'll try lemon and powdered sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My family loved these! We ate them with fresh berries. My son who usually eats barely 2 pancakes ate 4 and wanted more! I made the batter in the blender and the texture was smooth and fluffy. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I submitted the original recipe, and have loved all the comments because now I love these even more with the changes! I think it now deserves 5 stars, for the improved taste, quality and relative healthiness. Here's how I now make these: 1) substitute whole wheat flour for the white; 2) substitute unsweetened applesauce for the oil; 3) add some cinnamon and vanilla. They taste better this way, plus I feel better about feeding them to my child. Oh yes, and the amount as written does NOT make enough... always at least double the recipe. Actually when I make these, I usually make a 4x recipe and that results in a pretty normal amount of pancakes for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for breakfast and they were great. I used 2% cottage cheese and whole wheat flour. My husband commented that the flavor reminded him of french toast. I really like that they are healthier than standard pancakes and will be making them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Overall pretty good..I made the first 2 and didn't quite care for the flavor, but then I added a tsp of vanilla to the remaining batter and that set off the flavor. Great protein/carb combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States