Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I've been making these for years using 1/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of the 1/3 cup white. Everyone is surprised that they taste so good, even those who hate cottage cheese! Great plain or with a bit of orange marmalade or jam. My only indulgence is to butter the griddle a teeny bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe! Soooooo delicious! I will make these pancakes over and over again. My husband and I are training for a marathon (and trying to shed a few pounds) so I'm always looking for high-protein, low-fat, lower-carb meal ideas (not easy to find!). I made some changes to significantly reduce the fat content: I used 1% cottage cheese, 1/2c egg whites instead of 3 whole eggs, and only 1T of oil. I think next time I will try omitting the oil altogether. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1 tsp of baking powder, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla (as suggested by some other reviewers), plus one package of artificial sweetener (could use 2 tsp of sugar instead of artificial sweetener). I also mashed up the cottage cheese a bit with a fork before mixing everything together. These were yummy enough to eat plain but I topped mine with raspberry jam. With all of my substitutions, this ENTIRE recipe contains about 515 calories, 51g protein (woot! woot!), and 13g fat. This recipe makes enough for two people or one really hungry person. By the way, I registered for allrecipes.com just so I could write a review on this recipe! Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were great! Quick and easy. I used whole wheat flour and a tablespoon of applesauce instead of oil. The only problem is that "1 serving" is more like "1/2 a serving".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made these for my family yesterday...my kids are usually pretty picky, but even they said these pancakes were great!! I like the recipe because it's so easy, and it packs a lot of protein into pancakes. I'm always looking for fun, new pancake and waffle recipes, and I'll definitely be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I followed the advice of another reviewer and used whole wheat flour, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Excellent!! My family raved about them. I will probably never make pancakes any other way! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These pancake were delicious! I was very sceptical when I saw this recipe, but they taste so sweet and crunchy - unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germanica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe is quite good. The cheese taste doesn't really come through, it instead adds more of a general moistness. Be sure to at least make 50% more of the recipe at a time -- this will still result in only 8 pancakes! Also, we double the amount of flour. This could easily become our new go-to pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My family loves these pancakes. I use 1/2 cup of flour, and instead of oil, 4 Tbsp. of melted butter. I also use 4 eggs, not 3. I drop by large mixing spoonfuls onto the hot griddle, the kids like the smaller size. I have to double or triple this recipe - the leftovers taste just as good reheated the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very tasty! greaty recipe that went well with fussy 2 year old, and husband who hates cottage cheese. Managed to fool both of them. Will be a permanent favourite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very very good! My husband loves cottage cheese and I do not! But we both really liked these! I did add some vanilla to the batter. Served with fresh strawberries and pure maple syrup on top. So yummy. Between the two of us we finished he whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharveycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States