Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made two changes, using whole wheat flour instead of white and substituting 1 TBS applesauce for 1 of the oil to cut down on fat. These were good but had a texture similar to french toast instead of pancakes. Because of the cottage cheese and egg, they were a little "mushy". If you like the texture to french toast, you will love these. After the first batch was done I added two additional tablespoons of flour and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. The texture more closely resembled pancakes, which I personally prefer. Good way to put protein in pancakes. I will make again, experimenting with the flavor and texture. Maybe add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I've used this recipe for years. My family loves them served with fruit compote, applebutter or just jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancee Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these with whole wheat instead of white flour and added a few blueberries to each pancake after pouring the batter onto the griddle. Very easy to make with a custardy, crepe like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This combination of ingredients gives a final texture similar to a quiche. Used 1 cup 1% cottage cheese, whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, 4 eggs, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1.5 tbsp honey. Blended everything in a blender to make a smooth batter. Transferred to a sprayed frying pan and topped with handful of blueberries. Baked in oven for 15 minutes at 375F. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very easy and a nice change of pace. I am always looking for more ways to incorporate low fat cottage cheese into my diet, as it's a great source of protein. You can't expect these to taste like traditional pancakes. I too substituted whole wheat flour, applesauce for oil, and egg beaters for eggs. I added baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla based on others reviews. Topped with syrup, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used blended fat-free cottage cheese, subbed applesauce for oil, used 1 egg and 2 egg whites and added a little sugar & vanilla. They looked great until you cut into them. I couldn't get them to cook all the way through -not sure if this is the way they're supposed to be after reading reviews that many people had the same consistency. I cooked on low-medium heat for much longer than I normally cook pancakes to try and get more of a pancake consistency but it just didn't work. My two youngest loved them with a little sugar-free jam & a touch of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
So enjoyed this recipe! I also switched to whole-wheat flour, added 1/2 t. baking powder & 1/4 t. cinnamon.... fantastic! (Also very excited because I made the cottage-cheese, too... I'm living in Africa & we can't buy it here, so made it myself with the milk I had on hand!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are a great healthier version of pancakes that my picky son still loves. However I add 1 cup of plain yogurt and use 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour and 4 eggs instead. Love peanut butter and agave to top it off! Sooo delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Being a diabetic and a new mommy finding easy to make low carb high protien recipes for myself and something my family will like is not easy, but this is great! awesome finger food for my little one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States