Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My husband just had a Kidney Transplant and is on a special diet. This recipe was perfect for him and we both loved it! I try to give him a variety of foods so as not to get bored. We’re very happy I found this recipe. I also love that I can change the number of servings and am able to see the break down of calories, carbs, fat and protein. It makes it easier for me to determine which recipes I can use for his needs and keep track of the total amounts for the day. This is so important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
so easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
EDIT: I've now made this 6-7 times in the last few months and have made it much better for us with minor changes. I follow as directed but add 1 t. baking powder and a splash of milk. To cook I start with a hot pan and turn the temp down to med at best, cover w/ the lid slightly ajar, and cook more slowly than a usual pancake. This produces a terrific, low carb, high protein pancake that is not quite so flat or blintz like. I usually get 5 pancakes, about 5-6" across. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Delicious - and very low carb. Four servings? - no way! I should have known when I looked at the ingredient list that this was not going to be enough for 4 - it was 2 servings at best. The commenter who compared them to cheese blintzes was right - they have that consistency, which we happen to like; we did not find them to be fluffy at all (which was ok). We like pancakes and usually have them over the weekend - this is a new and different one that everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lvsfood2much
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Wonderful easy recipe. I added 1 tsp vanilla to batter for a little zip and used Mrs. Butterworth's sugar free syrup. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvsfood2much

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These just didn't do it for my family. I don't know if it is how they are supposed to come out, but they were still funny in the middle. I'm sad, i was hoping they would be great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I love the idea of using cottage cheese for most recipes...However, when I saw cottage cheese pancakes I got so excited because I have the biggest sweet tooth but I like to eat healthy. I love the fact that this pancake is a nutritious healthy pancake. I used whole wheat flour, lowfat cottage cheese and applesauce instead of oil. I was able to eat pancakes without scruples! I loved the softer creamy texture although I wish they would have come out fluffier because mine were on the flatter side. Even still, I love the fact that this pancake packs fiber, protein, calcium and vitamin D!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
first of all- YOU DON"T NEED THE OIL! I made these 2 ways with 2 totally different tastes and neither had oil. I cut the recipe to 1/4 cup of cottage cheese and 1 egg and 4 tsp. flour- tasted great. second way was to replace the flour for 1/4 cup of oatmeal (uncooked). surprisingly wonderful. 1st way tastes like an omelet and the oatmeal way tasted more like a pancake w/ more substance. ate both with syrup. thanks! I might add vanilla or honey or banana next time. tons of combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fast, easy and tasty ... A perfect quick Sunday morning recipe. My first batch fell apart because my pan wasn't hot enough. The second batch was golden and delicious. These are similar to an ethnic recipe my mother-in-law gave me, so my husband loves them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made two changes, using whole wheat flour instead of white and substituting 1 TBS applesauce for 1 of the oil to cut down on fat. These were good but had a texture similar to french toast instead of pancakes. Because of the cottage cheese and egg, they were a little "mushy". If you like the texture to french toast, you will love these. After the first batch was done I added two additional tablespoons of flour and 1/2 tsp of baking powder. The texture more closely resembled pancakes, which I personally prefer. Good way to put protein in pancakes. I will make again, experimenting with the flavor and texture. Maybe add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I've used this recipe for years. My family loves them served with fruit compote, applebutter or just jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancee Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States