Cottage Cheese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
first of all- YOU DON"T NEED THE OIL! I made these 2 ways with 2 totally different tastes and neither had oil. I cut the recipe to 1/4 cup of cottage cheese and 1 egg and 4 tsp. flour- tasted great. second way was to replace the flour for 1/4 cup of oatmeal (uncooked). surprisingly wonderful. 1st way tastes like an omelet and the oatmeal way tasted more like a pancake w/ more substance. ate both with syrup. thanks! I might add vanilla or honey or banana next time. tons of combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe has potential but HOW you cook it matters a lot. Since the batter is thin (depending upon the consistency of your cottage cheese), make sure you make very small pancakes. It is impossible to flip these if they are large since they stay custardy in the middle. It is also important to use medium, not high, heat. I used applesauce instead of oil and added a little sugar to the second batch.They are good without it but not sweet at all--reminded me of potato pancakes and were yummy served with applesauce and not syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I love this recipe. I used food processor for my cottage cheese to make it smooth and not lumpy. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These were really good! Followed recipe exactly and added a pinch of salt to the batter or maybe more then a pinch :) Sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are good. The first time I made them I felt they needed salt. Even salted the already made cakes. Now I add salt to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Topping is important....sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, or top with fruit jam or similar to turn into a delight - otherwise a little meek in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These really taste like a cheese blintz without any of the fuss. I absolutely loved this recipe. They are delicious eaten plain, but any fruit compote, jelly, jam, or syrup would be inspiring. I added a pinch of salt to make sure the flavour wasn't flat. And you could easily turn these into a desert pastry by adding a small amount of sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Traynor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I have used a recipe for Cottage Cheese Pancakes that uses sour cream instead of the vegetable oil and I really prefer the flavor of those pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were delicious - very light and creamy inside. I pureed the cottage cheese and added a tablespoon of vanilla sugar to the batter. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very tender and delicious. I used an immersion blender to smooth the cottage cheese before mixing in the other ingredients. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, added a pinch of salt and a bit of vanilla. A nice, healthy breakfast option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States