Cottage Cheese Loaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very tasty vegetarian loaf. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, using the whole 24 ounce container of cottage cheese which I had purchased and reducing the milk to half. I had no mushrooms, so I grated 3 carrots and one small zuchinni and stirred that in. I only used saltines (2 Pks) instead of the buttery crackers and I added a splash, maybe 2 tablespoons, of olive oil to add some fat because I used lowfat cottage cheese and the replaced the buttery crackers. Everything else was the same amounts and it was yummy and made a very tall 13 x 9 pan. Would like to try it with the mushrooms next time for the meatier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This recipe did not turn out well for me but it may have been my own fault. First of all I forgot to pick up the buttery rounds crackers at the store so I just replaced them with more saltines. I also made a double-batch thinking I could freeze some for future meals. I divided the mixture into two baking dishes but still had to bake them for almost triple the time called for in the recipe as it was soupy. After it cooled a little I cut a piece and found it was still not very firm.The taste was not bad but it reminded me more of stuffing than of meatloaf. Maybe because of all the spices? I refrigerated the leftovers and plan to heat it up for dinner tonight. Maybe it will be better the second time around. I think the other reviewers were probably right in adding a little green pepper or something else to jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I have rarely found a recipe on here this bad! It was edible but gluey and blah! Even tried topping it with salsa to help it. I wish it had tasted like it sounded. It was more like oatmeal. I googled Cottage Cheese Loaf and found some much better sounding dishes! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was a little bland on its own, so I added half a cup of green bell pepper and zuccini each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Great recipe, with a few changes. I thought the recipe was a little bland by itself, so i added 1/2 cup of red, green, and yellow peppers, and a 1/2 cup of onions. I was out of oregano, so I substituted the spice with Italian seasoning> With a little bit of pepper, this dish came out wonderfully! Excellent taste, I'll try making patties next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
It seemed to me that the recipe asked for too much of the spices (a whole tablespoon of sage? garlic powder?) so I halved them. My husband and I were not crazy about the recipe, however, I took it for lunch cold the next day and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Pretty good, just squishy and pale and salty -- if you're the kind of person who likes things like stuffing, you'll love this. It'd probably work well for picky kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Turned out a little bland. Made a mushroom gravy to pour over the top, which helped the flavor out a bit. Just needed something..... With a little work & some spice adjustment, this could be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
This is really quite tasty. It is great just following the recipe or for a little added flair add some chopped green pepper or about 1/2 cup shredded fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States