Cottage Cheese Loaf II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very tasty vegetarian loaf. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, using the whole 24 ounce container of cottage cheese which I had purchased and reducing the milk to half. I had no mushrooms, so I grated 3 carrots and one small zuchinni and stirred that in. I only used saltines (2 Pks) instead of the buttery crackers and I added a splash, maybe 2 tablespoons, of olive oil to add some fat because I used lowfat cottage cheese and the replaced the buttery crackers. Everything else was the same amounts and it was yummy and made a very tall 13 x 9 pan. Would like to try it with the mushrooms next time for the meatier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This recipe did not turn out well for me but it may have been my own fault. First of all I forgot to pick up the buttery rounds crackers at the store so I just replaced them with more saltines. I also made a double-batch thinking I could freeze some for future meals. I divided the mixture into two baking dishes but still had to bake them for almost triple the time called for in the recipe as it was soupy. After it cooled a little I cut a piece and found it was still not very firm.The taste was not bad but it reminded me more of stuffing than of meatloaf. Maybe because of all the spices? I refrigerated the leftovers and plan to heat it up for dinner tonight. Maybe it will be better the second time around. I think the other reviewers were probably right in adding a little green pepper or something else to jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I have rarely found a recipe on here this bad! It was edible but gluey and blah! Even tried topping it with salsa to help it. I wish it had tasted like it sounded. It was more like oatmeal. I googled Cottage Cheese Loaf and found some much better sounding dishes! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I loved this recipe! It was a little bland on its own, so I added half a cup of green bell pepper and zuccini each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Great recipe, with a few changes. I thought the recipe was a little bland by itself, so i added 1/2 cup of red, green, and yellow peppers, and a 1/2 cup of onions. I was out of oregano, so I substituted the spice with Italian seasoning> With a little bit of pepper, this dish came out wonderfully! Excellent taste, I'll try making patties next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
It seemed to me that the recipe asked for too much of the spices (a whole tablespoon of sage? garlic powder?) so I halved them. My husband and I were not crazy about the recipe, however, I took it for lunch cold the next day and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Pretty good, just squishy and pale and salty -- if you're the kind of person who likes things like stuffing, you'll love this. It'd probably work well for picky kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
Turned out a little bland. Made a mushroom gravy to pour over the top, which helped the flavor out a bit. Just needed something..... With a little work & some spice adjustment, this could be fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
This is really quite tasty. It is great just following the recipe or for a little added flair add some chopped green pepper or about 1/2 cup shredded fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States