Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This was a big hit at my house!! I would serve this meal for family and friends. Here are some changes I made based upon other reviews I read and my own taste. 1) Instead of boiling chicken, I bought an herb-roasted chicken from the grocery store. I sautéed the onions and peppers alone and added about 2 tsp. of taco powder at the end. After shredding the hot chicken, I added it to that pan. 2) I put some refried beans in each enchilada. 3) For a beautiful look, I sprinkled the top with sliced black olives. 4) I used about 2 cans of enchilada sauce. Very important! Spray the bottom of the pan and pour some sauce on it before adding the rolled enchiladas. 5) I used flour instead of corn tortillas. I moistened each tortilla with the enchilada sauce before putting it together. (Pour some sauce in a deep bowl and wipe the tortilla on both sides.) This helped keep the enchilada moist and tasty. This is beautiful! Let stand about 5 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
The cottage cheese/sour cream mixture was so yummy. I made the chicken in the crockpot-three frozen chicken breasts with a chopped onion, 1/2 a beer with a sprinkle of cumin, oregano, cinnamon, black pepper and a couple of cloves of garlic, gave it a stir and cooked it on low for five hours and then shredded it, sooo easy and tasty. Thanks for the fab recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
These are absolutely amazing! When I made them for my husband, he raved about them to everyone! We recently started the BODY FOR LIFE program, so I just changed a few things to make this a protein-packed, low-fat meal - using fat free sour cream, low-fat cottage cheese, pam instead of oil, and low-fat mexican style mix shredded cheese. I also layer everything like lasagna rather than rolling enchiladas to cut prep time in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I really enjoyed this. Very good recipe. The enchiladas turned out moist and quite flavorful. I had a few substitutions due to time constraints: plain nonfat yogurt for the sour cream, ground turkey for the skinless chicken, added my own Mexican seasonings such as oregano, chili powder, and cumin to cut down on sodium. Cheddar cheese with some cotija cheese was added in with the cottage cheese mixture for enhanced flavor. Also, I thinly sliced some black olives and green onions and added to the top of the enchiladas the last ten minutes of cooking. Served with beans and brown rice with fresh tomatillo salsa on the side. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will share it with my friends and have fun playing with it. ** Spread about 1/2 cup of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the casserole dish before preparing the enchiladas. Helps keep them moist while baking. The important thing to remember is to use a good amount of enchilada sauce to avoid the enchiladas from drying out. That took me a long time to figure out. COOKGIRL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I used whole wheat tortillas, 2% milk Mexican cheese, fat free cottage cheese,fat free sour cream,and green enchilada sauce and these enchiladas were awesome..I have also made them with ground turkey and ground chicken, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Was a little afraid to try this, but since everyone else said it was so great, I thought I would give it a try. GLAD I DID!!! Me and my husband LOVED it. Suggestion....Since its just the two of us, I divided the receipe in half and made up two smaller trays of it. I have some of those ovenware plastic baking trays, so I served one tray for dinner, and froze the other. Now I have a wonderful dinner in the freezer and can just throw it in the oven when I want a delicious dinner, but no time to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
My husband & I also made "Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce", also on this site. We served this to 4 of our friends and everyone LOVED the dish. The only real change we made was to add a whole lot more enchilada sauce (it was just one big messy dish, but mmmmmm was it good!!). Our friends were surprised to learn they were eating cottage cheese. It is important to shred the chicken (not just cut it up) if you've never made enchiladas before. We cannot wait to make this again; a definite family keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was simple and delicious too! I didn't want the hassle of rolling the tortillas, so I just quartered the tortillas and put half on the bottom, then half after the chicken layer. They were fabulous and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Amazing! I changed a little here it goes. The night before, I boiled chicken in low sodium chk broth, while cooking I chopped onions, garlic and jalapeno and saved all together in a plastic bag with the chicken. The next day I came home at lunch to assemble them. I heated olive oil in skillet while I shredded the chicken then put it in the skillet with chopped veggies and added chili powder, cumin, a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and a dash of seasoning salt. I used fat free cottage cheese and light sour cream. I heated 6 flour tortillas in microwave, then assembled and topped with green enchilada sauce a bit of shredded cheese and black olive slices. Put them in the fridge and the boyfriend popped them in the oven for 30 minutes when he got home. When I got home from an evening meeting, I had a wonderful hot meal. These were to die for! So gooey but less fat. I will make these again for sure! Will use more jalapeno next time and omit the shredded cheese on top as it wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Mmmm! These were delicious. I added some of the broth that I cooked the chicken in with the taco seasoning. I also added chopped cilantro to the cottage cheese mixture & omitted the salt & pepper. Finally, I sprinkled chopped black olives on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States