Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This recipe is no good. While the filling is yummy when you leave out the taco seasoning and do some tweaking with garlic, the enchilada sauce throws everything off. The combination simply does not work. You'll notice other reviewers on here have also found this to be true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Ehhhh, I had high hopes for this. Maybe my brand of enchilada sauce was no good?I like cottage cheese but it just didn't do it for me. No one in my family of 4 just loved it. I even made a second to freeze because I was sure it was going to be great. I'm from Texas and to me nothing compares to Tex-Mex. This was lacking in flavor and richness. The cottage cheese/sour cream mixture didn't float my boat. Eadible but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I just made these yesterday, and I am already ready for another batch! These were SO GOOD!! The cottage cheese is much cheaper than ricotta, even though I like both. I made a double-batch of Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce from this site (instead of canned). I used a big glass pan, and put a layer of sauce on the bottom (IMPORTANT TO KEEP THEM MOIST), filled it with enchiladas, and poured the remaining sauce on the top, topped it with a little more cheese and it was GREAT! Everyone in the family loved them, and requested this be put in the regular meal rotation! I ended up doing a couple things differently, due to what I had on hand.I used one chicken breast cubed and a tube of ground chicken.(Ground chicken works GREAT!) I also did not add the taco seasoning because the sauce was plenty spicy for our family. I baked it a little longer, because I had the pan crammed pretty full. (Note that exact measurements when filling your shells is NOT important - you might have different sizes in shells. I microwaved the shells, not fried. No need. Just make them rollable. So, you'll probably get slightly differing quantities of actual enchiladas.) Not sure if it is possible, but these tasted even better today than yesterday! The sauce made all the shells super soft, and it was like a mexican lasagna! Ha! Seriously, if you are on the fence about enchiladas with cottage cheese, don't be. You can't taste it separately at all - just loads of creamy goodness! THANK YOU for a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
good, but it didn't need the tsp of salt. the taco seasoning is salty enough. we made this tonight & the oversalting ruined the recipe. it's a shame because i'm sure we would have loved it otherwise...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Soooooo yummy! Made exactly as directed and topped with sour cream, tomatoes, and lettuce. Will be making a double batch next time to freeze for quick weeknight meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great recipe! Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I only used the recipe for the cottage cheese stuffing, I used my own jalapeno shredded chicken recipe for the rest. And I used a green enchilada sauce instead of red. I loved the cottage cheese & sour cream mix, it was very yummy and complimented the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengirl911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Used retried beans, black olives Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is exactly what I was looking for: a high fiber, meatless, easy to make, enchilada recipe with ingredients I have on-hand. Instead of the recipe sauce, I used a bottled green salsa which I cooked down to thicken. I didn't have any canned refried beans, so used the boxed dried beans reconstituted (1 C beans in 1 C boiling water). I actually prefer corn tortillas, but used the high-fiber flour ones and was thrilled that they seemed as good as corn in this recipe. I cooked at 375 degrees until lightly browned in my toaster oven. Since others liked the recipe sauce, I will try it another time, but using the bottled sauce made this the easiest enchilada recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Move over "Angela's Awesome Enchiladas"...these were pretty darn good, and a little healthier! Using the crockpot makes quick work of this recipe. For recipes which call for shredded chicken, I find that you just can't beat boneless, skinless thighs for the flavor factor. I add 1/2 c chicken broth while the thighs are simmering. Then I add the taco seasoning near the end of cooking, as well as the sauteed onions and diced jalapenos. I used 2% cottage cheese and spiced up the mixture with some garlic/onion powders as well as cilantro and an eyeballed amount of the enchilada sauce. Next time, I'll use another can of sauce, as I like to pour a decent amount into the bottom of my baking dish, as well as smother the top of the assembled enchiladas. Using homemade tortillas and shredded cheddar cheese made these a yummy Saturday night dinner for the hubby and 4 year-old daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States