Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The children LOVE this recipe especially when I secretly blend the onions and peppers into the red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harperhabitat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was waaayyyyy good! I looked forward to my leftovers the next day for sure! Used flour tortillas (didn't have corn) and used a drained can of Rotel (didn't have a can of green chiles). Forgot the taco seasoning until the end so I just sprinkled it on top before adding the sauce and it still came out divine! Also made this at 3am (I work nights) and threw it in the oven the next day for lunch. So easy and so good!! I love recipes i can prep ahead of time. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I've made this at least a half dozen times since I first started trying it out. I don't make any changes to the recipe other than trying to use 'light' products whenever possible. The first time I made this, I had my Mexican friend over and she said they tasted just as good as her mom's! She couldn't believe it was made with cottage cheese! That first casserole dish full of enchiladas got completely devoured by 3-4 women in one night! There were no leftovers. I was amazed! It also was my go-to recipe the for one of the first times I cooked for my boyfriend, and he liked it so much he even requested I make it for one of our special occasion dinners. I've made it for a potluck, and it got all kinds of compliments. Seriously, this recipe is fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I thought the flavor was good, and the cottage cheese ups the protein if you're short on chicken. In CA, we eat a lot of enchiladas so it takes something really special to be a 5* to my way of thinking. I used half flour and half corn tortillas to compare, but feel that the recipe is correct using corn to make traditional enchiladas. On the advice of so many, I doubled the enchilada sauce and was sorry because the tortillas became overly soggy; the corn ones fell apart, but still tasted good, and the flour ones became doughy and unpleasant. I use homemade taco mix, so I can't comment on the saltiness if using packaged. I feel this recipe is a nice 4 star as it stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very good! even though I used healthier choices (Whole grain tortillas,low fat sour cream, cottage & Monterey Jack cheeses. Im not a fan of canned enchilada sauces (too salty & perservative-y. So, I made the Ten Minute one from this site. Even with cooking chicken & fresh sauce, it was on the table in 1 hour 20 min. Of course,that time would be shortened with pre-cooked chicken & sauce. I made 4, not 2, medium size chicken breasts and yielded (7)nice size enchiladas. (a 9 x13 pan full)I topped with chopped lettuce, tomato, & sour cream. And ,served with a corn & black bean salad/salsa. Excellent hearty meal that I will make again & often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was so very tasty! I added 2 TBSP of cumin along with low sodium taco seasoning to shredded chicken. I only used 1 cup of 2% Mexican Cheese on the top of the enchilada sauce just to lighten it a bit. I used low fat cottage cheese and low fat sour cream and low carb tortillas -- My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I've done this recipe dozens of times with multiple variations. It's the best basic enchilada recipe I've ever found to modify to everyone's taste. I don't quite understand the negative reviews that say it wasn't good at all, or that it was only good when people added their own variations. Every home made recipe should be tailor made for your taste. Substitute anything with whatever you like. That's what cooking is all about. If it was completely uniformly perfect for everyone, it would come as a pre-made product that you'd buy in a store and would be sold out because everyone ate it ALL THE TIME. It would be as popular as water. I've never gone wrong with any variation of this recipe, and the creamy cottage cheese and sour cream balances well with the spiciness of this dish, but you have to balance this with what you like. I use rotisserie chicken from costco, and make two big casseroles or more. One with dark meat, and one with white, and I change what I want with what I have or what I have a taste for. Enchiladas are generally totally customized. If you don't like half the ingredients, you probably won't like the recipe. Cooking from scratch is common sense folks! I occasionally follow a recipe verbatim, but I always modify it every time after. Don't knock it till you try it, then try it the way you know you will like it. If you still don't like it, stop eating food. And please post your non-food recipes here so we can all stop eating food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I absolutely love this recipes.. I also add a little ricotta cheese and hot sauce in the cottage cheese mixture and I use hot enchilada sauce and they are the best spicy chicken enchiladas.. I make a big pan every time and its never wasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I'm keeping this at 3 stars because I made a lot of changes to it, but I do have to say after I messed with the recipe the product was delicious! First off, I like my chicken to be very flavorful, so I found a recipe on here for taco seasoning and doubled it, ended up using about 1.5 oz rather than the 1 oz. taco seasoning packet. You likely have all of the ingredients for taco seasoning in your cupboard already. Secondly, I wanted this to be really healthy so I substitute 0% greek yogurt for the sour cream, can't taste a difference IMHO. Third I'm way too lazy to roll enchiladas, and so I always layer this like lasagne in a 9x13 dish - tortillas, meat mixture, cheese mixture, enchilada sauce etc, be sure to put some enchilada sauce on the bottom and cheese on top. Finally if you feel like you want to add some vegetables to make this more of a meal, add black beans and corn in with the meat mixture, it's really great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corunna, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States