Cottage Cheese Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great different recipe for the bread machine. I did my setting for a 2lb loaf on light color for basic bread. I also followed the recommendations to add more sugar and cut the yeast. I used one packet of quick rise yeast which is almost 2teas. The bread almost hit the top of the bread machine. I also added an additional 1/2 c all purpose flour during the knead cycle because my dough was too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CASSIEBEL
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, even the amount of yeast and I do not think it is too much. I ma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Great, easy recipe! Family loved it! Used 1 pkg of active dry yeast & 2 T of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have this recipe in my bread machine, now using just the dough cycle. I did not make any changes to the ingredients or amounts. I intend to bake in the oven as a few other reviewers have done (let rise 45 min to 1 hr; bake 20 to 30 minutes 350 degrees). I am looking forward to the results. Results: yeap it did mushroom out onto the top of the bread machine tube. Punched it down; let it rise again. Makes two nice loaves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is the best bread recipe I have found in along time. Everyone marveled about it at dinner today. It was so moist, and had a great flavor. I used 2t. of instant yeast and it raised great. Making my 2nd loaf now, and I know it will go over great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I've had my bread machine for over three years and I've yet to make a decent tasting bread. Nothing comes close to my grandma's homemade bread. Thank you Dara for the recipe. This bread was by far the best I've ever tasted. I had a little over a cup of ricotta cheese to get rid of so I used that in place of the cottage cheese plus about three heaping Tablespoons of ground flax seeds. It was so light and fluffy on the inside and crisp on the outside. I just made a loaf about an hour ago and already it's gone. I am definitely making this again - most likely tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a very yummy bread, followed recipe to the T and its really nice, even though it did collaps but think that is because we didnt take it out when done, we left it in a couple of hour ooooppppssss. but i cant leave it alone its so nice x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is one of the best bread machine recipes I've tried. It actually has a nice light texture like bread should! I did cut the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp, but I may try 1 1/4 next time because it still hit the top of my machine. I also suggest heating the water to temperature suggested on your bread machine. I keep my yeast in the fridge and make sure to warm it slightly in the microwave (about 10 seconds) before using, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shefeline
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I modified this recipe a whole bunch and it still came out with a great taste and texture! First, I substituted the margarine with 2tbsp of olive oil and 1c of white flour with 1c of whole wheat bread flour (King Arthur). I also added 1tbsp of nonfat dry milk, 1tbsp of dried dill, and abt 1/4c of shredded parmesan bc I had some in the fridge. I reduced the yeast to 2tsp as suggested by others, but I did keep the 1/4 tsp of baking soda. Baked it on my machine's Express setting (which is 1hr total). For a small loaf this setting normally asks for 4c of flour and 3 tsp of bread machine yeast, so since this recipe was only 3c of flour I used 2tsp and it rose just the right amount (check out my photo). The bread is surprisingly fluffy and moist for an Express bread with whole wheat. Very flexible recipe! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SKOONUS
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I took the recommendations and only used 1 1/2 tsp. of yeast, and it turned out great! Next time I will add some spelt flour and use this bread in a french toast recipe. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States