Cottage Cheese Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have this recipe in my bread machine, now using just the dough cycle. I did not make any changes to the ingredients or amounts. I intend to bake in the oven as a few other reviewers have done (let rise 45 min to 1 hr; bake 20 to 30 minutes 350 degrees). I am looking forward to the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is the best bread recipe I have found in along time. Everyone marveled about it at dinner today. It was so moist, and had a great flavor. I used 2t. of instant yeast and it raised great. Making my 2nd loaf now, and I know it will go over great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I've had my bread machine for over three years and I've yet to make a decent tasting bread. Nothing comes close to my grandma's homemade bread. Thank you Dara for the recipe. This bread was by far the best I've ever tasted. I had a little over a cup of ricotta cheese to get rid of so I used that in place of the cottage cheese plus about three heaping Tablespoons of ground flax seeds. It was so light and fluffy on the inside and crisp on the outside. I just made a loaf about an hour ago and already it's gone. I am definitely making this again - most likely tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a very yummy bread, followed recipe to the T and its really nice, even though it did collaps but think that is because we didnt take it out when done, we left it in a couple of hour ooooppppssss. but i cant leave it alone its so nice x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is one of the best bread machine recipes I've tried. It actually has a nice light texture like bread should! I did cut the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp, but I may try 1 1/4 next time because it still hit the top of my machine. I also suggest heating the water to temperature suggested on your bread machine. I keep my yeast in the fridge and make sure to warm it slightly in the microwave (about 10 seconds) before using, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shefeline
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I modified this recipe a whole bunch and it still came out with a great taste and texture! First, I substituted the margarine with 2tbsp of olive oil and 1c of white flour with 1c of whole wheat bread flour (King Arthur). I also added 1tbsp of nonfat dry milk, 1tbsp of dried dill, and abt 1/4c of shredded parmesan bc I had some in the fridge. I reduced the yeast to 2tsp as suggested by others, but I did keep the 1/4 tsp of baking soda. Baked it on my machine's Express setting (which is 1hr total). For a small loaf this setting normally asks for 4c of flour and 3 tsp of bread machine yeast, so since this recipe was only 3c of flour I used 2tsp and it rose just the right amount (check out my photo). The bread is surprisingly fluffy and moist for an Express bread with whole wheat. Very flexible recipe! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SKOONUS
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I took the recommendations and only used 1 1/2 tsp. of yeast, and it turned out great! Next time I will add some spelt flour and use this bread in a french toast recipe. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
i was going to ask what i did wrong, but then i took another look at the photo, and mine looks much like this. the top sank after rising nicely. the texture was crumbly and oily. it needed more salt. this is not one i'll be trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My daughter asked me "Why can't all bread taste like this??" I made this with all white whole wheat flour (King Arthur) and in the oven (350 for 40 minutes). It was perfect, and I didn't have to adjust any of the ingredients (yeast was the right amount too--didn't have the issue the bread machine people had. Next time I make this, I will likely double it, since one loaf goes far too fast in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
great way of increasing the fiber in bread, not to mention a wonderful texture for sandwiches. Only thing that I found was that I need to back in oven (350 degrees for 30 minutes) in TWO bread pans. Made the mistake the first time of making this only one loaf -but it makes two good sized loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States