Cottage Cheese Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I had a lot of cottage cheese in the fridge and decided to try this recipe. I usually only make whole wheat breads, but not knowing how it would turn out I only substituted whole wheat flour for half of the bread flour ~ No problem at all! I also used butter, only 2t. yeast, and added 1T. of wheat gluten. The bread rose perfectly to fill the pan without overflowing. The texture of the bread is soft and spongy, and the flavor has a bit of tang. I may try this again with all whole wheat flour and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I keep forgetting to rate this but this a fantastic bread. Very tasty and a super texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I made this today but I substituted 2 cups of wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour..made it in the bread maker on the dough cycle but took it out and made it into rolls with some melted butter and sesame seeds on top came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good bread. Everyone is my family loves it. I didn't and won't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I made this using my Kitchen Aid mixer last night, same as I have with the other loaves I have recently. I let the yeast proof with the sugar and water, then added the remaining wet ingredients. After I added the dry and they had a chance to fully combine, I switched to my dough hook and kneaded the dough for about five minutes. It was a little wet, so I added a bit more flour to get it to a kneadable consistancy. I let it raise in the bread pan for about an hour on a warm stove, then baked it for a half hour. We haven't tried it yet, but I'll update on how it was later today. EDITED NEXT DAY: I liked it but thought the texture was a bit off. Both my husband and oldest son loved it, though my husband asked me not to tell him what was in it. This makes great french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added olive oil instead of marg/butter, and used just one packet of yeast. It came out to be the prettiest loaf yet. Much like the II recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recipes from Home & The Road
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Followed the recipe ingredients to the T. Made 2 tall loafs. I used the Dough Cycle, split dough into 2 pans covered and let rise for an hour before baking at 350F for 30 min. Yummy. Thank-you for posting, Plan to make many times the cottage cheese makes if very light tasting. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I went to make this bread for the first time and discovered that I only had a half cup of cottage cheese left...so I used a half cup of sour cream as well. The flavor and texture was wonderful! I think this is the best bread I have ever made in my bread machine! Definitely a recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
A few changes: 2 tsp yeast, 2 TB sauteed onions, 2 tsp dill seed, 1/4c water (for yeast) and 2 1/2c flour (all purpose and hard white). Cottage cheese ONION DILL BREAD.mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj_

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I don't use a bread maker so I had to knead this bread. I ended up using about 1 more cup of flour. This was the softest, easiest to knead foough ever. I made dinner rolls and they were perfect. Very light and fluffy. This recipe is a keeper! I used olive oil in place of margarine. You cannot tell that there is cottage cheese in this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States