Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Yummy Yummy beignets. Haven't tasted the real thing from Cafe Du Monde, but judging from the outcome of these yummy delights I can imagine what the real taste must taste like :) Also what I did was to eat them with sardine in tomato sauce. Tips when frying: Make sure the oil is not TOO hot or the inside won't cook and the outside would browned too much. Always flip them over and over again to get even colors on both sides. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Easy to make and super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovedinak
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I found this exact recipe elsewhere on the internet. I looked on here for Beignets and came across this. I love these alot! My entire family loved them. I want to add a cream cheese filling into them next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
It's a great recipe. I walked within a half-block of Cafue Du Monde a few years ago, but I couldn't convince anyone to go there. So I have nothing for comparison. I wanted to give it four stars only because I'm not sure it's significantly different than any other fried dough recipe. In fact, it reminds me of the corn nuggets at Sonny's BBQ. But this dough recipe is a little less sweet. Also, I'd like a little more. For example, I plan to mix up a chocolate mousse next time and use a piping bag to squirt some mousse inside the beignets. The best part of the recipe is that the dough could be used for much more. I think it might work for Jamaican beef. Given its utility, I decided to give it a full five stars. But I'd like to see what people can do by combining this recipe with another on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONWHITE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very good! The full recipe made 52 beignets (not all exactly the same size)! I think I'll try half a recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
YUMYUMYUMYUMYUM! WE UM ATE THESE AS THEY WERE DONE, KINDA GLAD I MADE JUST A HALF BATCH, BUT WANTIN MORE TODAY! WITH AND WITHOUT THE SUGAR!!!! I WISH I KNEW WHAT THE ONES AT THE CAFE TASTED LIKE, BUT I BET THAT TIS RECIPE IS BETTER! I JUST LOVE HOME COOKIN BETTER, YOU KNOW WHO PREPARING YOUR FOOD! IF YOU DUMP LOADS OF SUGAR ON UM-NO LAUGHING OR BREATHING HARD AS YOU EAT THEM...RISK OF INHALING THE SUGAR! LOL, SWEET PAIN!!!I AM MAKIN MORE FOR ME TODAY, MOTHERS DAY! (DADDYS AT WORK...:( THANKS FOR THE YUM YUM RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
All FOUR of us loved the recipe. Making dough and frying was very simple. One of us is from Louisiana, and he very much enjoyed these beignets. Serve with some cafe au lait if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
these were really good. But were way too sticky to roll out and I was in a hurry. after a few failed attempts, I basically fried them in globs i tore by hand from the batter. They were still really tasty once disguised with generous helpings of powdered sugar. Dusted some of them very lightly with cinnamon and used some maraschino cherries just to add a festive appearance-- made a great birthday breakfast for my sweetie, along with an ice caffe latte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Have made these several times and they are wonderful! I follow the recipe exactly. A friend used to live in New Orleans and ate at Cafe Dumond weekly and she says these are the real deal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
They taste just like the real thing. I was only missing my Community coffee to dunk them in. It was great having something different for our Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States