Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I've never had the real thing, but these are everything I hoped for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floundergirl07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naknek, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Nice recipe for Beignets, thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiB-

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Fantastically awesome and really easy! I was intimidated as I'd never worked with yeast dough, but these turned out great, I might add 1 T of vanilla next time. I had a friend and her kids over for beignets and coffee and the kids scarfed them up! I rolled out the leftover dough (this resipe makes a ton), cut it up and froze it so we can have beignets again. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe. Only thing was I didn't have shortening so I used butter. I only did half of the recipe and only fried half of the dough which was a lot for my husband and I. Very yummy and very similiar to the real thing - even my husband enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Everyone in my family loved these!! Also, I thought they were pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm only giving this treat 3 stars. There is definitely something missing. I added a lot of sugar to make it taste sweet. Don't think I'll be sleeping tonight. I'm sure my boys will enjoy it tomorrow morning and it will probably keep them going for the entire day. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe and ended up with fried bricks after 4 hours total of my time. Wasted ingredients and wasted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Perfect,Perfect,Perfect. Love 'em. My kids actually liked them better that we had at Cafe D'...they all want them for their birthday breakfast!...Husband also likes them drizzled with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I tried this recipe on a whim and am SO glad I did. I have never tried beignets before, so I have no frame of reference, but these were fantastic. I did notice that the dough was a little bland, so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract and it worked wonderfully. I also cooked them in a fryer on the back porch, I found that the summer heat helped them to rise slightly before I put them into the fryer. They puff much better when they are allowed to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
they good but i did not roll them out thin enough and that made them tast real doughy must remember 1/8 means 1/8 so that was my fault am going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States