Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
They call them Doughnuts and Beignets, I call them sopapillas ( I hope that is spelled correctly). I added vanilla and I think next time I will add a little more sugar. I also put cinnamon in my powdered sugar. I think the servings must be a mistake. I halved the recipe and still ended up with 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These turned out awesome! Neighbors LOVED them! My hubby isn't much of a pastry person but he LOVED them and brought a bunch to the shop. I wish I would have read teh reviews before hand about the massive amount this recipe makes! I made a small modification: I used 4 cups all-purpose whole wheat flour (sifted 2x) then used 3 1/2 cups white all-purpose flour sifted WITH the whole wheat (making it 3x the wheat was sifted). This makes the wheat light and fluffy instead of hard and heavy after cooking. Because I used whole wheat, I also added a little room temp. water to the batter as I added the flour. Just enough to make it more moist. I had trouble with not keeping the oil at the right temp. It would get TOO hot and then get too cool. I had a few that didn't expand but stayed flat. Not sure if this was because of the oil or because I used wheat. Other than that, they were SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious. This recipe makes a frequent visit to the dinner table! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have to say that I've never had a beignet prior to this evening, although I've made lots of standard doughnuts before. I found the texture to be really, really lovely but the flavour was seriously lacking. I would highly recommend using butter instead of shortening and also adding perhaps a little vanilla. Will perhaps make again but not without a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I've never had the real thing, but these are everything I hoped for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floundergirl07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naknek, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Nice recipe for Beignets, thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiB-

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Fantastically awesome and really easy! I was intimidated as I'd never worked with yeast dough, but these turned out great, I might add 1 T of vanilla next time. I had a friend and her kids over for beignets and coffee and the kids scarfed them up! I rolled out the leftover dough (this resipe makes a ton), cut it up and froze it so we can have beignets again. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe. Only thing was I didn't have shortening so I used butter. I only did half of the recipe and only fried half of the dough which was a lot for my husband and I. Very yummy and very similiar to the real thing - even my husband enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Everyone in my family loved these!! Also, I thought they were pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States