Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
My whole family, except for one, and their friends loved them! As other reviewers said, they do make a lot, but as the author said you can store any unused dough in the refrigerator up to a week, I think. Except for the powdered sugar, they weren't very sweet at all. Next time, I think I will put a glaze on them or fill some of them with a buttercream or custard. Then they'd be even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
i made these in a deep fryer in extra vir oliv oil. they have great taste and were well enjoyed. the dough is easy to work with and would work well with any bread recipe. i may use this as a pizza crest next. the key is to use a good quality confection sugar at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made these a few days ago. I never had them, but this recipe is so good. I think they would be good rolled in cinnamon sugar mixture!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very tasty and simple dough. making the whole batch was somewhat time consuming but well worth it. We used a cinnamon-sugar sprinkling instead of powdered sugar. This recipe made enough beignets for about 12 people. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
yummy in the tummy! No better words describe these beignets.Recipe does make alot so I make them up and layer them between wax paper and freeze.They thaw quick and ready to fry and taste just as fresh.I notice the thinner they are,the puffier they get.Theres never any left overs when I serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Went to the famous Cafe Dumonde a few weeks ago and had the real deal, delicious! So I tried this recipe to duplicate, my husband said they looked and tasted very similar. Recipe was very simple and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yes, these are very good. They remind me of Sopaipillas the way they puff up. In fact I did eat them with honey. I made these when I lived in Grants, NM. I do love the taste of these. I followed your reciepe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome fresh. (Once cooked, not good saved in a baggie.) Kids had fun shaking the sugar on. A nice weekend treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
this was my first attempt at deep frying anything, so maybe that was the problem? My beignets did not come out puffy. I even tried rolling & let them sit for an hour before frying & still didn't puff up like I wanted. They still tasted good, mostly like a funnel cake. I did notice the yeast seemed to expand in my stomach after eating these. Great recipe to try for Mardi Gras but probably won't be a repeat w/ us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made it three times. First using butter instead of shortening, next adding cinnamon and brown sugar, then finally, as written. Third time's the charm! Before rating a recipe, PLEASE TRY IT AS OFFERED! Lots of nostalgia behind these. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States