Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the only recipe I use for beignets and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Not the amazingness I was expecting, but I'm sure its a god basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe - followed it to the letter, but I found the dough too soft to keep my shapes consistent, when putting the in the deep fryer. Other than that, they were a big hit at the 'Nawlins themed baby shower. I will be making these again in the near future. This is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
If memory serves me well these are as good as Cafe Du Monde. The recipe is easy to follow & I like it as is. It really does make a lot. Will halve the recipe next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome goodness is all I can say. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I just followed the recipe and added cinnamon powder together with the confectioner sugar in a ziploc bag for dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These were awesome! I am a fan of using my breadmaker so I mixed the sugar, shortening (except I used margarine instead because I was out of shortening), boiled water, etc... and the extra water you are supposed to dissolve the yeast in all together and then the flour on top and the yeast on top of that and set my breadmaker on the dough cycle. When it had 30 minutes left I popped the dough in the fridge for the last 30mins. They came out to be perfect little pillows of deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
LOVE this recipe! I wanted to make homemade doughnuts and this was the first one I tried. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used fresh whole milk and they still turned out perfectly. Looks like my search is over already. Now I just have to find the perfect custard to squeeze inside and I'll never have to buy doughnuts again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed making AND eating these :) I was in the mood for cinnamon so I added that to the batter and then dusted some with powdered sugar and some with cinnamon and sugar mixed. Very good! Makes a TON so I made three ziploc bags with twenty a piece in them to give to the neighbors. We still have a lot left! Oh, the directions don't say to flip them while they're cooking but I did to get an even cooking on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I am anxious to try this recipe. My husband and I went to New Orleans on our honeymoon and Cafe Du Monde was a highlight of the trip. I did read on the CDM site that they suggest frying in cotton seed oil like they do. I saw some people thought something was missing. Perhaps that is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ranson, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I grew up in Baton Rouge, LA and use to eat beignets all the time as a child but never knew how to make them. I made this recipe for my family and didn't change a thing! Not only did my family love them but they tasted just as i remembered them. We had so much dough left the next morning I rolled out biscuits that we ate with molasses syrup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States