Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This makes a huge amount of doughnuts!! But they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Cossin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are very good! I'd never made doughnuts and wanted to make some for Fat Tuesday/Doughnut Day so I tried these. I followed the recipe to the letter. The dough seemed really sticky and soft while I was making it so I did add a little bit more flour. It rose a lot in the fridge. I was busy with something else, so mine rose for 2 hrs instead of 1. I used a deep fryer so I wouldn't have to worry so much about temperature control. They really puffed up in the hot oil! I loved watching them puff! I knew from the amount of flour called for that this would make a lot of donuts, but man o man! We're giving them away to practically everyone we know! They are quite tasty. Close to Cafe Du Monde, at least as close as I'll get in my attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
We all liked them but we were not crazy about the fried heaviness. A little went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I make this recipe and after rolling and cutting the dough I freeze half the dough squares. Just stack them with a little flour and wax paper between. When I need tham I put them in the fridge the night before and fry the next day. Works perfect for holiday time! Delicious recipe, my kids love tehm dipped in chocolate sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe is easy to follow and they turn out very well. I used star, heart, and fish cookie cutters to make them fun shapes, they all turned out well. I would agree that this recipe could use a little bit of vanilla or almond extract. Overall, these are easy and fun to make with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe was so simple to make. I doubled the recipe.. and WOW, did it make alot of doughnuts!! We loved the doughnuts and shared with everyone!! Will continue to make them and most certainly will pass the recipe around!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is my first time trying it and I thought it turned out great! I didn't have the required pan so I used a normal deep pot to heat the grease in, in which it required a low-medium heat because it nearly burned them at first. I agree with the other person saying the recipe needs a little vanilla and possibly a little bit more sugar. Other than that it was successful (im an awful cook) and taste great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Close to home, but the dough MUST rest a good hour in fridge BEFORE deep frying so it'll PUFF up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah26
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a 'sweets' person so I can't say if these are better than the average donut or sopapilla. BUT I love to cook and I like this recipe because it allows me to be creative with the shapes and toppings. ....I made mine small and dusted them with powdered sugar and then dipped into chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the only recipe I use for beignets and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States