Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These were fantastic. They made a lot though. I served mine with homemade jam and honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These are wonderful! It does make a lot...but you don't have to fry them all up. Keep in fridge and can easily make fresh ones in the morning! :D Did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Excellent! For the topping, I mixed powdered cinnamon as well and the result was really good. I'm going to definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These are just OK, too much flour I say! I am giving this recipe one more shot and doubling the sugar and adding a lil less flour... way too bready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
ive made these a few times now, and theyre delicious! i dont have much experience with yeast yet, so figuring out that bit was tricky. if the yeast doesnt get foamy in the bowl, throw it out and try another. ive found these fluff up and taste best after sitting in the fridge overnight, but if youre impatient (like me!) they fluff up alot more if you cut them out and let them "rest" for 10 minutes under a damp towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
4.5 rating. My 4 young kids gobbled them up. I sprinkled them with cinnamon/powdered sugar mixture and served them hot. I thought they were good, but feel the dough is lacking in a little flavor. Better to start lower/medium with oil temperature and work up - you'll have plenty of dough to experiment with. My first one got super brown right away, then had a gooey inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
We had some that we followed the recipe to a T and they were delicious. Then we decided to get a little creative and we mixed up a bowl of chocolate icing and coolwhip and used a pastry bag to fill these before sprinkling on the powdered sugar and they were outstanding. Made a room full of teenagers quit talking cause they tasted so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Whole family loved them! We cut the recipe in 1/2 and still had way too many for the 6 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious!! These were a huge hit with the family and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I had never had these before- always been curious since I saw Disney's Princess and the Frog. These are really good! Way too easy to eat though... but relatively easy to make too. This recipe is huge. I halved the recipe as is, only made them from about a third of the dough and it's SO many beignets! Oh, and I added a teaspoon of vanilla with the egg, as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States