Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I love this recipe. It is the most easiest dough I have worked with. It has lightness & density all at the same time. I have made these for large groups of Young Adults for Conferences and they just devour them. Thank you for your post eternally grateful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
What a fantastic recipe!!! thanks so much. It is perfect as it is. They are so fluffy and perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe was so easy and it's results were TERRIFIC! After making some of the dough up as the recipe directs, my daughter and I wanted a few with fruit filling. We took even amounts of softened cream cheese and strawberry preserves and blended the two together. We then took one piece of the cut dough, dampened the edges, placed fruit mixture in the center and covered the dough with a second piece of the cut dough and pressed edges to seal. Fry as previously directed, let cool and shake to cover with the powdered sugar just as with the typical beignets...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb DeWeese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I have been searching for a good donut recipe lately and finally found this one. Taste was great and with just a couple of tweaks it would put it over the top! I let my dough rise at room temperature and also let them rise after I cut them. this way they were a little bigger but didn't use more dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsrahal
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
These Are the best! I used the pastry cream recipe from this site and piped them into these beignets Yum! I wish there were more stars! It's a keeper for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly as is and they turned out fluffy,airy and super delicious. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Disappointed. My kids wanted to make doughnuts and we decided to give this recipe a try. Very bland. Next time, I'm going back to my Amish grandmother's doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Yum! perfect easy donut substitute. I did have problems keeping the oil the right temp; it started too hot and they browned too fast without puffing up. Better to err on the side of too cold and let them cook a bit longer. The dough is so easy to make, but it does make a ton! I cut the recipe in half, and one baseball-sized amount made about 18, which was enough for the 6 adults+2 kids brunch I brought them to. I thought they were great as is, but I can see how adding on cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice could make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
The sopapillas I've had at several places are much crunchier than beignets & doughnuts are different, as well. I prefer the beignets & this is a great recipe! It can take some practice to fry them just right, but it's worth it! And my family likes them just with the powdered sugar...... no cinnamon, nothing else...... except maybe a glass of cold milk or a cup of hot coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I recently visited the famous cafe in New Orleans. They were one of the best things I have ever tasted. Well I was very proud of myself. Mine turned out great. They were so good, my friends were fighting over them. Thank you for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States