Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipie makes a massive amount of Beignets! I refrigerated the dough and made a batch for breakfast a few days in a row! Just like New Orleans! Just a warning - clean up immediatly - the dough is like cement when it dries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Holy Moly...OMG!!!!!!! This recipe is awesome!! Makes a huge amount, so maybe cut in half, but other then that..IT ROCKS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Thank you for the beignet recipe! I just got back from visiting New Orleans. I also live in Saudi Arabia. I live in Ras Tanura! I'm originally from California. What a small world! Anyway, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
these are amazing! it sounded like a lot, so i halfed the recipe and it makes a ton! they puffed up beautifully and were amazing w/ powdered sugar. thanks for the awesome recipe! definately a new favorite of mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
My son saw the Cafe Du Monde on TV and asked if we could make French market doughnuts at home. As usual, we found the perfect recipe on this site. I had lots of help from my two boys. They especially enjoyed using the sifter to dust the beignets with powdered sugar. I think I'll add some vanilla next time. We'd never tried beignets before, but we all agreed that they taste verymuch like funnel cake. We will probably make these again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Easy to make and super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
YUMYUMYUMYUMYUM! WE UM ATE THESE AS THEY WERE DONE, KINDA GLAD I MADE JUST A HALF BATCH, BUT WANTIN MORE TODAY! WITH AND WITHOUT THE SUGAR!!!! I WISH I KNEW WHAT THE ONES AT THE CAFE TASTED LIKE, BUT I BET THAT TIS RECIPE IS BETTER! I JUST LOVE HOME COOKIN BETTER, YOU KNOW WHO PREPARING YOUR FOOD! IF YOU DUMP LOADS OF SUGAR ON UM-NO LAUGHING OR BREATHING HARD AS YOU EAT THEM...RISK OF INHALING THE SUGAR! LOL, SWEET PAIN!!!I AM MAKIN MORE FOR ME TODAY, MOTHERS DAY! (DADDYS AT WORK...:( THANKS FOR THE YUM YUM RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlaskaMama
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I found this exact recipe elsewhere on the internet. I looked on here for Beignets and came across this. I love these alot! My entire family loved them. I want to add a cream cheese filling into them next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
All FOUR of us loved the recipe. Making dough and frying was very simple. One of us is from Louisiana, and he very much enjoyed these beignets. Serve with some cafe au lait if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
these were really good. But were way too sticky to roll out and I was in a hurry. after a few failed attempts, I basically fried them in globs i tore by hand from the batter. They were still really tasty once disguised with generous helpings of powdered sugar. Dusted some of them very lightly with cinnamon and used some maraschino cherries just to add a festive appearance-- made a great birthday breakfast for my sweetie, along with an ice caffe latte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States