Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This recipe is easy to follow and they turn out very well. I used star, heart, and fish cookie cutters to make them fun shapes, they all turned out well. I would agree that this recipe could use a little bit of vanilla or almond extract. Overall, these are easy and fun to make with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe was so simple to make. I doubled the recipe.. and WOW, did it make alot of doughnuts!! We loved the doughnuts and shared with everyone!! Will continue to make them and most certainly will pass the recipe around!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is my first time trying it and I thought it turned out great! I didn't have the required pan so I used a normal deep pot to heat the grease in, in which it required a low-medium heat because it nearly burned them at first. I agree with the other person saying the recipe needs a little vanilla and possibly a little bit more sugar. Other than that it was successful (im an awful cook) and taste great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Close to home, but the dough MUST rest a good hour in fridge BEFORE deep frying so it'll PUFF up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah26
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a 'sweets' person so I can't say if these are better than the average donut or sopapilla. BUT I love to cook and I like this recipe because it allows me to be creative with the shapes and toppings. ....I made mine small and dusted them with powdered sugar and then dipped into chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is the only recipe I use for beignets and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Not the amazingness I was expecting, but I'm sure its a god basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great recipe - followed it to the letter, but I found the dough too soft to keep my shapes consistent, when putting the in the deep fryer. Other than that, they were a big hit at the 'Nawlins themed baby shower. I will be making these again in the near future. This is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
If memory serves me well these are as good as Cafe Du Monde. The recipe is easy to follow & I like it as is. It really does make a lot. Will halve the recipe next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Awesome goodness is all I can say. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I just followed the recipe and added cinnamon powder together with the confectioner sugar in a ziploc bag for dusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States