Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I do know my kids ADORE this recipe!! My husband is creole so I had to do something to surprise him for this weekend for Fat Tuesday as well.. I must say he had me making them all day today!! great recipe! What I did different was add a little sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon to give it my own twist.. simply in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandyn-Ashley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made these for brunch one weekend and man were they delicious! After reading the reviews I halved the recipe and it still made a massive amount of beignets! So I played around with them. I stuffed some with sweetened ricotta cheese, mozzarella cheese, and jelly. We had fun with them and they were all delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made these for my family and they were a hit. The first time i made them they were not that sweet so the second time i made them, i used 1 cup of sugar and they were sweet enough that they didnt even need the dusted powdered sugar. I also didnt have evaporated milk so i used regular whole milk which turned out fine. Also, the second time i made them i used coconut milk instead which gave them a nice coco-nutty taste. The original recipe makes alot of beignets so i used half the dough and froze the other half for later use, although i ended up making them again the very next day because my kids ate them all up and kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were really good! I did make the addition of 1 Tbsp vanilla and 1 Tbsp cinnamon to the dough, and it sat closer to 2 hours in the fridge. I also free-handed circles instead of rolling and cutting. Everyone really enjoyed them and said that they were fantastic, but would be even better filled! Will definitely reccommend adding the vanilla and cinnamon, or else this would have been a 2 star recipe for blandness. Very good recipe for my first ever doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe for HOMEMADE Beignets! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe! The only thing I changed, was I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract as others had suggested (I only made 1/2 the recipe)because it does make a ton and it is soo easy. I made the dough in the morning and cooked them after dinner. Super fun for the kids to shake in sugar! We dipped some in melted milk chocolate and plan to experiment with filling them next time! Thank you for sharing this fun doughnut recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe is wonderful as is though I may try adding some almond extract next time to see if that adds anything to it. It is very easy to make and because it makes so much I divided the batch to make over a couple of days, refrigerating the unmade. I actually piped some lemon curd into some and some Nutella into the others and they were a tremendous hit! So good, I'm not sure which I like better! This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
My family and I love these!! I love how many I can get out of the recipe too (just have to keep my brothers away from them lol) Only problem was with the frying- for anyone trying this kind of cooking the first time, it's really easy to burn the oil if you aren't paying attention, and it's better to have two people working at that point in the kitchen. Just make sure you don't burn each other!! Wear oven mitts to protect yourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Oh my goodness were these good. I 1/2 the recipe and it still made a ton. Very easy and delicious surprise for Fathers Day brunch, I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made these for the first time for my wife's banquet at work. I received rave reviews and did not bring a single one home. Thank you for the recipe and I will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States