Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully! Served them Christmas morning and my husband said he liked mine BETTER than the ones at Cafe du Monde! These are going to be an annual tradition in our family for Christmas from now on. The recipe as written makes a LOT of dough- I divided it into four balls and froze three and baked one into the beignets. The next week I thawed another ball of dough and rolled it out and made more beignets and they were as good as the first ones! The dough freezes beautifully. Just thaw for a few hours at room temperature in the plastic bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Baker Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I've made it five or six times, and it turns out great every time. Shortening can be substituted for oil, and I've found that you can use regular milk in place of evaporated, and there's not that much of a taste difference. My family's huge, and we always have enough for us and the neighbors! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layna Sutton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These were awesome and they make a lot! Yay, more for me and guests! I did add vanilla as others suggested. The only other change was that I let it rise after cutting and before frying. This allowed them to puff up even better and get nice and soft. So those that might have had bricks, that might have been the reason. I keep a stash now in the freezer in case company pops in unannounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
View Notes. 2nd try were GREAT! Disappointed. Too bready and dough lacked flavor. Next time - * let dough set for 2 hours and not refrigerate, for fluffiness. * gently bathe oil over the surface, then flip, only to golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this yesterday and stupidly used all the flour, it made so much. I will make these again but make only 1/4 of the recipe. They were very good when you eat them right away...not so much the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Delicious. I am a private chef and had these requested by a client...They turned out amazing. Very tasty, and airy. I actually let the dough sit in the fridge overnight and punched it down once. I took the advice of others and added vanilla bean. As another reviewer mentioned, make sure you use the right amount of yeast. The recipe calls for a tablespoon, and one packet of dry yeast in only 2.25 teaspoons. I also froze a bunch of cut out beignets and put them in layers on parchment paper. I cooked them up this morning and turned out just as good as the first time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
just did it!!! um no flavor not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have had MANY beignets from Cafe du Monde and these really hit the spot. I usually change something in every recipe but made these exactly (except for halving the recipe). They are the real deal--totally authentic and easy enough for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Maybe the missing "something" was my not using evap milk but I'm not a fan so I subbed half and half. We ate some fresh and hot, the leftovers went in the bin. Scaled to half so I had about 2/3 of the dough left. Next day I patted it out and let it rise, dimpled then dusted with herbes de provence. Baked then drizzled with garlic butter, made a tasty focaccia style garlic bread to go with spicy lasagna. Since it's slightly sweet, a bit like Hawaiian bread, it would be good to make a large Schlotzsky's size sammy with this>>> "Baked Hawaiian Sandwiches".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monzoid
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This recipe is great! I love that it is a family recipe and others who left reviews are incorporating it into their traditions as well. Someone can roll out the dough, someone can fry, and someone can sugar them. They tasted excellent! I only had to adjust the frying temperature for my pan, since I used cast iron. I fried around 330-340 degrees F. I will remember this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States