Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Went to the famous Cafe Dumonde a few weeks ago and had the real deal, delicious! So I tried this recipe to duplicate, my husband said they looked and tasted very similar. Recipe was very simple and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yes, these are very good. They remind me of Sopaipillas the way they puff up. In fact I did eat them with honey. I made these when I lived in Grants, NM. I do love the taste of these. I followed your reciepe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome fresh. (Once cooked, not good saved in a baggie.) Kids had fun shaking the sugar on. A nice weekend treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
this was my first attempt at deep frying anything, so maybe that was the problem? My beignets did not come out puffy. I even tried rolling & let them sit for an hour before frying & still didn't puff up like I wanted. They still tasted good, mostly like a funnel cake. I did notice the yeast seemed to expand in my stomach after eating these. Great recipe to try for Mardi Gras but probably won't be a repeat w/ us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made it three times. First using butter instead of shortening, next adding cinnamon and brown sugar, then finally, as written. Third time's the charm! Before rating a recipe, PLEASE TRY IT AS OFFERED! Lots of nostalgia behind these. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
this is a great recipe and we think it is just like the cafe' Dumonde in New Orleans... we had them years ago and this is the first try making them at home Im so glad I chose this recipe... A few tips: I used my deep fryer, that way my oil stayed the right temp and I never had to cool down the pan and readjust the heat. I also used a pie cutter with a rippled edge to cut the diamond shapes and that gave them a very pretty edging. The only problem with these Beignets is you can not stop eating them. they are well worth trying. I was going to mix up half the recipe but I'm glad I went with the whole thing because the dough stores well and you can have them whenever you want them . very very YUMMY! I think you could squeeze some grape or raspberry jelly, even vanilla cream filling in the middle for a different twist and make a delicious jelly, or cream filled doughnut, maybe ill try that next time for a whole new spin on these already delish treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
They call them Doughnuts and Beignets, I call them sopapillas ( I hope that is spelled correctly). I added vanilla and I think next time I will add a little more sugar. I also put cinnamon in my powdered sugar. I think the servings must be a mistake. I halved the recipe and still ended up with 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These turned out awesome! Neighbors LOVED them! My hubby isn't much of a pastry person but he LOVED them and brought a bunch to the shop. I wish I would have read teh reviews before hand about the massive amount this recipe makes! I made a small modification: I used 4 cups all-purpose whole wheat flour (sifted 2x) then used 3 1/2 cups white all-purpose flour sifted WITH the whole wheat (making it 3x the wheat was sifted). This makes the wheat light and fluffy instead of hard and heavy after cooking. Because I used whole wheat, I also added a little room temp. water to the batter as I added the flour. Just enough to make it more moist. I had trouble with not keeping the oil at the right temp. It would get TOO hot and then get too cool. I had a few that didn't expand but stayed flat. Not sure if this was because of the oil or because I used wheat. Other than that, they were SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious. This recipe makes a frequent visit to the dinner table! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States