Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made these a few days ago. I never had them, but this recipe is so good. I think they would be good rolled in cinnamon sugar mixture!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very tasty and simple dough. making the whole batch was somewhat time consuming but well worth it. We used a cinnamon-sugar sprinkling instead of powdered sugar. This recipe made enough beignets for about 12 people. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
yummy in the tummy! No better words describe these beignets.Recipe does make alot so I make them up and layer them between wax paper and freeze.They thaw quick and ready to fry and taste just as fresh.I notice the thinner they are,the puffier they get.Theres never any left overs when I serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Went to the famous Cafe Dumonde a few weeks ago and had the real deal, delicious! So I tried this recipe to duplicate, my husband said they looked and tasted very similar. Recipe was very simple and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nory143

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yes, these are very good. They remind me of Sopaipillas the way they puff up. In fact I did eat them with honey. I made these when I lived in Grants, NM. I do love the taste of these. I followed your reciepe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Awesome fresh. (Once cooked, not good saved in a baggie.) Kids had fun shaking the sugar on. A nice weekend treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
this was my first attempt at deep frying anything, so maybe that was the problem? My beignets did not come out puffy. I even tried rolling & let them sit for an hour before frying & still didn't puff up like I wanted. They still tasted good, mostly like a funnel cake. I did notice the yeast seemed to expand in my stomach after eating these. Great recipe to try for Mardi Gras but probably won't be a repeat w/ us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Made it three times. First using butter instead of shortening, next adding cinnamon and brown sugar, then finally, as written. Third time's the charm! Before rating a recipe, PLEASE TRY IT AS OFFERED! Lots of nostalgia behind these. Thanx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
this is a great recipe and we think it is just like the cafe' Dumonde in New Orleans... we had them years ago and this is the first try making them at home Im so glad I chose this recipe... A few tips: I used my deep fryer, that way my oil stayed the right temp and I never had to cool down the pan and readjust the heat. I also used a pie cutter with a rippled edge to cut the diamond shapes and that gave them a very pretty edging. The only problem with these Beignets is you can not stop eating them. they are well worth trying. I was going to mix up half the recipe but I'm glad I went with the whole thing because the dough stores well and you can have them whenever you want them . very very YUMMY! I think you could squeeze some grape or raspberry jelly, even vanilla cream filling in the middle for a different twist and make a delicious jelly, or cream filled doughnut, maybe ill try that next time for a whole new spin on these already delish treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved by everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States