Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I've made it five or six times, and it turns out great every time. Shortening can be substituted for oil, and I've found that you can use regular milk in place of evaporated, and there's not that much of a taste difference. My family's huge, and we always have enough for us and the neighbors! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These were awesome and they make a lot! Yay, more for me and guests! I did add vanilla as others suggested. The only other change was that I let it rise after cutting and before frying. This allowed them to puff up even better and get nice and soft. So those that might have had bricks, that might have been the reason. I keep a stash now in the freezer in case company pops in unannounced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
View Notes. 2nd try were GREAT! Disappointed. Too bready and dough lacked flavor. Next time - * let dough set for 2 hours and not refrigerate, for fluffiness. * gently bathe oil over the surface, then flip, only to golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this yesterday and stupidly used all the flour, it made so much. I will make these again but make only 1/4 of the recipe. They were very good when you eat them right away...not so much the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Delicious. I am a private chef and had these requested by a client...They turned out amazing. Very tasty, and airy. I actually let the dough sit in the fridge overnight and punched it down once. I took the advice of others and added vanilla bean. As another reviewer mentioned, make sure you use the right amount of yeast. The recipe calls for a tablespoon, and one packet of dry yeast in only 2.25 teaspoons. I also froze a bunch of cut out beignets and put them in layers on parchment paper. I cooked them up this morning and turned out just as good as the first time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
just did it!!! um no flavor not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have had MANY beignets from Cafe du Monde and these really hit the spot. I usually change something in every recipe but made these exactly (except for halving the recipe). They are the real deal--totally authentic and easy enough for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Maybe the missing "something" was my not using evap milk but I'm not a fan so I subbed half and half. We ate some fresh and hot, the leftovers went in the bin. Scaled to half so I had about 2/3 of the dough left. Next day I patted it out and let it rise, dimpled then dusted with herbes de provence. Baked then drizzled with garlic butter, made a tasty focaccia style garlic bread to go with spicy lasagna. Since it's slightly sweet, a bit like Hawaiian bread, it would be good to make a large Schlotzsky's size sammy with this>>> "Baked Hawaiian Sandwiches".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monzoid
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This recipe is great! I love that it is a family recipe and others who left reviews are incorporating it into their traditions as well. Someone can roll out the dough, someone can fry, and someone can sugar them. They tasted excellent! I only had to adjust the frying temperature for my pan, since I used cast iron. I fried around 330-340 degrees F. I will remember this recipe for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I do know my kids ADORE this recipe!! My husband is creole so I had to do something to surprise him for this weekend for Fat Tuesday as well.. I must say he had me making them all day today!! great recipe! What I did different was add a little sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon to give it my own twist.. simply in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandyn-Ashley

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States