Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These are awesome! I went to Cafe Du Monde once and tried these, loved them! The coffee was awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Ryder Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
We use to lived in the South, and visit New Orleans every holiday. Since we moved to Arizona, I missed the southern food. This recipe bring my family back to New Orleand, very good beignet, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie I

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I practically grew up in New Orleans and have had the beignets at Cafe du Monde more times than I can count. These didn't puff up as much as they should have and had a doughy taste in my opinion. My friends all liked them, but I guess knowing how good the real thing is kind of ruined it for me. Next time I attempt to make these (or Elephant Ears which are pretty much the same, just a different shape), I'm going to save myself some time and effort and buy frozen bread dough, roll it out, cut it and fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe is really great! I LOVE the beignets at Cafe Du Monde so I was really looking forward to having something similar. Everyone loved these! I'm not sure what it's missing, but it still does not taste as wonderful as Cafe's. Nonetheless, I will definitely make these again. ** I would definitely let the dough rise for at least 6 hours. It will come out much better! I also added a tsp of vanilla **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Really good! We ate the first time and they were very light and fluffy then a couple of days later we fried up the rest of them (this recipe makes a LOT!) and they were a little more dense. They were good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe! These took about 10 minutes to make and then we were able to save have the dough for the next day (we just put it in the fridge). They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
oh my goodness oh my goodness!!! I was craving donuts so badly and decided this was the recipe for me. So glad that I did! I have never had the "real" ones but if they taste this good...they would be awesome. Huge recipe but good if you can take them to work or have a hungry family! Next time I will try filling them with some vanilla pudding and drizzling with some choc syrup for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My boyfriend is from New Orleans area, and has had Cafe Du Monde beignets several times. He absolutely loved this! He said it tastes very close to that recipe and all he needed was some cafe au lait and life would be very good! As is the recipe makes a TON of dough so if you are only looking for a few beignets, use the recipe adjuster to make less. Really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
they were good, but something wasn't right. will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These brought me back to my honeymoon in New Orleans! So light, melt-in-your-mouth delicious. They're good the first day, but AMAZING right out of the pan. I agree that this recipe makes a TON-- next time I'll cut it in half at least. I didn't have shortening so I used butter, and I didn't have evaporated milk so I used water and "coffee whitener" (that creamer powder). I also added in about a tsp of vanilla as someone else suggested. I was concerned at first about rolling out the dough so thin, but it puffed up a huge amount while being fried. To dust with powdered sugar, I lined a tupperware container with paper towels, put in some of the fresh beignets and powdered sugar, and shook the whole thing. It worked beautifully and was a great way to transport as well. These will be a new chanukah tradition in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States