Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have never eaten these before so I have no comparison, but I do not need one! These taste heavenly!!!(Worth standing there for ever, it seemed, and frying them!) As other reviewers suggested, I added cinnamon to the icing sugar, which is just too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
VERY GOD RECIPE. ADD VANILLA EXTRACT. AND LET RISE THE DOUGH FOR 1 HOUR BEFORE FRYING THE BEIGNETS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I am not usually a fan of frying or donuts in general but this recipe is delish! The thinner you roll these babies the better they puff up. The dough it sweet enough on its own that you definitly dont need a cup of confectioners suger. Yummy for a girlie brunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I needed something for a New Year's Eve party and chose this recipe. I made the recipe and then did a test fry of 8 or 10 beignets and they were delicious. My concern was would they be as good cold versus warm, but I went ahead. I made the entire batch, which was a large quantity, but not for a party. I let them cool completely and then layered them on my serving tray and sprinkled them with confectioner's sugar before adding the second layer. Because they were drained and cool, they didn't absorb the sugar and looked wonderful. One great surprise was that by the time we got to the party and placed them out on the table, they had actually softened and were quite delicious! They were a hit and I got a lot of complements. Thank you. One think I found though is that if you keep your oil at or around 360 degrees, about a minute and a half per side was perfect. Don't let them cook too long. There is a point where the quality begins to diminish the longer you cook them. Go for a very light brown. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
They are ok. I was looking for a recipe similar to my mother in law's, but these just don't compare. Hers are much fluffier and have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Shape, size, and thickess of the dough after rolling and cutting makes a big difference in the "puff". Taste is like that of a good yeast doughnut. Once I got the variables right, the result is outstanding. The (extended) family found powdered sugar, granulated sugar, honey, jam, even maple syrup to work on these. I used lard as the shortening and deep fried them in lard at 375F. Oil absorption is miminal during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Not my favorite... I think I will stick to regular doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Loved the recipe, donuts came out great! I really wanted donut balls so I used this recipe and YUMMY! I didn't have evaporated milk so I used regular milk and didn't have shortening so I used 1/4 cup of butter. Teach me to make things on a last notice!! But it was worth it...sooooo good, my man ate half the batch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These are excellent and can be frozen! I followed the recipe exactly except I cut it in half. This still made a ton and I had no choice but to try freezing them. I made sure they were cool and I did not add the confectioners sugar to the ones I was going to freeze. I thawed them in the microwave on med power for 30 second intervals and then shook them in the bag of sugar. They were perfect - just like the day I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
We had beignets at the Grand Lux Cafe in downtown Chicago - and this recipe was our attempt to recreate that awesome experience. They are FANTASTIC! There were 6 of us at the table, and we were floored how many this recipe made - each one of us shaking our head "we'll never eat all those". Within 20 minutes, every single one was gone! We served them with 3 sauce options - a white frosting dipping sauce, chocolate fondue sauce, and raspberry sauce. Made the recipe exactly as its written - and we'll do it again this year -- GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjzibell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States