Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Good, puffy doughnut. They aren't too sweet on their own, which I like. We covered some in powdered sugar, some in cinnamon-sugar, and cut a few of the puffier ones open and put a little jelly in them...MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Delicious recipe! Absolutely worth the process to make them, because they are fa-bu-lous. My dough mixture was exceptionally sticky, and I would up adding more more flour. I paid attention to the advice to use a paper bag to coat the beignets with sugar. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Mine didnt puff that much but they did taste good. More like the fried dough you get at a fair vs. beignets in NOLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Best

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
FANTASTIC! Just like Cafe du Monde. Made them for Superbowl Sunday in honor of the saints and all we could say was WOW! Could cut recipe in half and still have a ton of dough and beignets. Thank you, this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luetang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
cut recipe in 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made the dough the day before frying. I had trouble rolling the dough out to 1/8" and keeping it that way. I struggled to get it that thin, then when I cut the beignets into diamonds the dough would shrink back up into 1/4" thick little blobs. The beignets were still good, but I think they would have been less dense if I could have kept them at 1/8."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C2mia
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a nice basic recipe and its better to work with if you leave it overnight. This made a massive amount of dough--I would half it next time. I rolled out the dough and made heart shapes with a cookie cutter. I will add a dash of nutmeg to the dough next time but added it to cinnamon sugar roll mix and also used powdered as well for 2 different effects. These fried up extremely fast and cannot imagine 3 minutes let alone 5. Seems like they cooked in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C2mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My 14-yr old son is the gourmet at our house. After trying beignets at Disneyland, he used this recipe to make them for us. Wow! Quickly becoming a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have never eaten these before so I have no comparison, but I do not need one! These taste heavenly!!!(Worth standing there for ever, it seemed, and frying them!) As other reviewers suggested, I added cinnamon to the icing sugar, which is just too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
VERY GOD RECIPE. ADD VANILLA EXTRACT. AND LET RISE THE DOUGH FOR 1 HOUR BEFORE FRYING THE BEIGNETS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States