Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was a great recipe. Only thing was I didn't have shortening so I used butter. I only did half of the recipe and only fried half of the dough which was a lot for my husband and I. Very yummy and very similiar to the real thing - even my husband enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Everyone in my family loved these!! Also, I thought they were pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm only giving this treat 3 stars. There is definitely something missing. I added a lot of sugar to make it taste sweet. Don't think I'll be sleeping tonight. I'm sure my boys will enjoy it tomorrow morning and it will probably keep them going for the entire day. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I followed the recipe and ended up with fried bricks after 4 hours total of my time. Wasted ingredients and wasted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Perfect,Perfect,Perfect. Love 'em. My kids actually liked them better that we had at Cafe D'...they all want them for their birthday breakfast!...Husband also likes them drizzled with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I tried this recipe on a whim and am SO glad I did. I have never tried beignets before, so I have no frame of reference, but these were fantastic. I did notice that the dough was a little bland, so I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract and it worked wonderfully. I also cooked them in a fryer on the back porch, I found that the summer heat helped them to rise slightly before I put them into the fryer. They puff much better when they are allowed to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cadessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
they good but i did not roll them out thin enough and that made them tast real doughy must remember 1/8 means 1/8 so that was my fault am going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Super easy! My whole family devoured the entire batch even though it makes a ton! They simply loved them....They have been begging me to make them again, so this weekend I will! Thanks for this recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This took a bit of trial and error to get right. The oil on medium high is way to hot and the beignets just burned. My perfect temp was medium low. Dont cook more than 2 - 3 inch squares or 4 triangles at a time or it will lower the temp of the oil to the point that they will not puff up. When cooked properly they will first sink then puff up and float, then turn golden, if they start to spot your oil temp is to high. When I finally got the temp right they seemed a bit bland so I added brown sugar and cinnamon in my next dough ball and rolled it out so it had a marbled effect (this is so the way to go and I will continue to do that). If you put your paper towel and cooling racks on a cookie sheet you will be able to powder them there too and clean up will be a breeze. I made 3/4 of a batch and froze the rest. My 3 kids consumed them all only letting my husband and I snag 2 a piece so I will make a whole batch next time. Please also note that if you use the packets of yeast that it is only equivalent to 2 1/4 tsps and that would make your beignets not puff up as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These taste exactly like Cafe Du Monde! Had a lot of visitors the day I made these and everyone LOVED them! This recipe makes a lot so I froze the rest in layers between sheets of wax paper in a ziploc bag. Experimented with thawing out a few and then frying them to see if the taste was the same. It was the same! I am thrilled that we can have these whenever we want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States