Costa Rican Coffee Panna Cotta with Bittersweet Chocolate-Rum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarah&joe
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This panna cotta is so great--the flavors of the coffee go so well with the bittersweet chocolate and rum. Plus it is so easy and a nice, lighter dessert when you are having a heavy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is sooooo good. Just like something you'd get at an upscale restaurant. And so easy to make. I thought there was a lot of sauce, though. Enough for a whole other batch of panna cotta. Really rich & chocolaty. You don't really taste the coconut milk or the coffee. It just tastes really decadent. This would be great dessert for a dinner party. Guests will be really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was my first attempt at panna cotta. It was a beautiful presentation, with a great combination of ingredients. It had a bit of a bitter aftertaste though. Maybe I'll leave the coffee out next time. :-) BTW, the chocolate sauce is fabulous for making hot cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
It's a delicious creme brulet with a delicate flavor of coco. Delicious! Better than a classic italian panna cotta. It's good without sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I think that the rum flavour is too strong, and I couldn't taste the coconut milk at all. I would probably reduce the rum and compensate with more milk next time. However, the texture of this is lovely--smooth and light--even though I messed up at first and had to add more gelatin for it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Not bad, overly sweet and fairly rich. Agreed on the coconut milk. I might even leave the rum out next time if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I made this recipe twice and I thought the 2nd time was so much better and less bitter. I made the espresso - did not use espresso instant powder and mixed in 1 tablespoon of the espresso in the mixture. In addition, I cut back on the rum b/c I thought it made the custard a little too bitter. I used 1/8c of dark rum. I increased the coconut milk. I used 1 1/8c of coconut milk. Finally, I used Giaradelli bittersweet chocolate chip cookies for the chocolate glaze. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I serve this on a mound of "soil" which consists of rough chopped oreo cookies (remove the white inner stuff before chopping) and a large Tbl. of finely ground coffee. Mix them together well, and they should resemble potting soil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great recipe!! It was super fast and simple to put together. We only made 2/3 of the chocolate sauce and it was still WAY too much. Next time we'll probably only make 1/3 what the recipe says. We'll probably replace some of the cream with milk to make it healthier, and possibly coconut milk for a little extra kick. Delicious!! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made these for dessert. They were good but to me they weren't Panna cotta; the sour cream was just wrong in it. I could taste the sour cream distinctly. Real Panna cotta has a delicate cream flavor. Four stars because the sauce was fantastic. Thank you camila for the interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States