Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Boy is this good! Just the kind of minestrone I was looking for. I played around with the ratios a bit based on what I had on hand, and had to up the liquids a lot to avoid getting a stew. But the result is mind-blowingly faboulous. After tasting it I decided to invite some friends over to help polish it off, it is well-worthy to feed to company. What it could use is a bit of green: zucchini or green beans. May throw some in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was really good and very easy to make. I didn't have the fresh herbs on hand so I used dry and they worked great. I also used only 4 potatoes, added a little extra liquid at the end and served it with crusty bread - delicious. My husband loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I tried this soup. I love it. I added some lima and green beans. And did not use the pasta. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Delicious!! I made this for a friend who is vegetarian and all of us who had lunch together enjoyed it! It was so easy to put together and as the previous comments noted, the ingredients are easily adapted to your taste or what you have on hand. I even had meatless sausage I added to it that tasted perfect. I am more open to trying more meatless meals after trying this and will keep this in my file for a heart-warming, home-cooked meal. This makes a LOT so half it if it's not for a big group and add more water or broth as suggested before, mine needed at least 3 more cans of broth or water for a full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Warning: Makes a lot yet can be easily frozen for leftovers. This stuff was GOOD, and really easy to make for a weeknight. The most time consuming part is chopping the vegetables, and while the soup cooks, stir every so often. I didn't have veggie broth so I used a can of chicken broth instead, also added in a can of chick peas. Very yummy, will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
awesome for a cold rainy day, I made this with molasses bread from this site great combo. this soup is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This soup was absolutely delicious! It is just what I wanted on a cold, rainy day - hearty and flavourful. I made a few minor changes, using some chopped fresh green beans and fresh peas in place of the celery, and adding some fresh parsley in addition to the basil and oregano. I only used 1 tbsp of oil and 1/2 tsp of salt, and 900 mL of vegetable stock (I get confused by American quarts, ounces, etc.) This is the kind of recipe that will easily become a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was a huge hit at a church supper last night. I needed a hearty vegetarian soup and this fit the bill. We doubled the recipe and had enough for about 23 people plus some extra. Everyone is asking for the recipe. I made a couple of small changes, but it would've been good without them too. I just added some chopped zucchini, used dry herbs since I didn't have fresh, and used small shells instead of macaroni for the pasta.It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was so good! I used about 10 baby carrots, chopped, maybe ½ a yellow onion, and I used some garlic powder instead of the cloves of garlic. Instead of vegetable broth, I used more like 2 quarts (total) of water with a tablespoon of beef boullion powder mixed in. And instead of the fresh herbs, I used maybe 1½ or 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (the saltless dry herb blend). I used maybe a teaspoon of salt, and I added a few shakes of pepper. It was so very good! And the next day, it tasted even better! I like to mix sour cream into my bowl, but it's very good without! Thank you so much for sharing this, Corrigan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Fantastic recipe! Kudos to you. I followed most of the directions, but found pureeing the celery and garlic to be more towards my taste-- it provides a creamier, thicker soup without altering the flavor. Still, the method you described works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scumbling1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States