Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made a few changes with this. Used dried herbs instead of fresh, left out the celery, added an additional can of veggie broth, added a few shakes of red pepper flakes, and used only 1 cup of macaroni (uncooked). This is very good! Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I add corn and fresh parsley. If you are going to freeze some of the soup, set aside the amount to be frozen before adding the pasta...otherwise you'll have mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastyCakesChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My husband and I love this soup, as do the grandsons. I precook the carrots, celery, and onions in the oil. I parboil the potatoes and precook the macaroni. Allow to sit a couple of hours to blend. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Easy make ahead family dinner or cold weather party starter. Cook pasta separately. Place pasta in individual serving bowl & add the soup on top. Cooked and drained pasta will keep in a plastic bag in the frig for several days. Personal preferences include less onion & garlic (especially when freezing), chopped spinach, finely shredded cabbage, diced tomatoes, V8 juice and any veggie I have in the frig. Keeping the pasta separate also makes the recipe crockpot & freezer friendly for those rushed days. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I overcame the problem of the liqued 'drying' up by precooking the pasta, so worked extremely well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Loved the texture of the different veggies coming together with the beans, potatoes and pasta. Makes for a hearty soup. However, flavor is king, and this soup is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
My husband and 2 year old and I enjoyed this immensely! Yum! My husband is not usually a soup fan but this was perfect as it was chunky and thick -- especially since he had a sore throat, it hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Was a pretty delicious soup. I did make a few changes. I left out the celery (I'm not a fan) and the potatoes (helps cut down on the carbs). In place of the potatoes I substitued an 14.5 oz. can of green beans (reserve about 1/2 c. juice). I also substitued the vegetable broth with just plain old chicken broth, and added the reserved green bean juice. I put dried herbs in because I didn't have fresh ones. Just feel it out to your own tastes. I would recommend putting the kidney beans in a little later because they were a little mushy, and cooking the noodles separate till al dante or just a little before that so when you add it to the soup, they are just right. And for my secret to the soup, I add a little red pepper flakes to give a nice heat to the aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I don't do a lot of cooking, but today was my wife's birthday and minestrone is her favorite soup. Very good recipe, but a little too thick. Next time I'll add more water. Here's what I changed: Put in two cans of tomato paste, 1 and 1/2 times the vegetable broth, and added half tablespoon of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Super easy and yummy Minestrone. Very easy to play around with. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States