Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great tasting soup! I followed the instructions to the letter except for a couple additions. I added 1 can of rinsed garbanzo beans, about 12 ounces of canned chopped tomatoes that I wanted to use up and also added additional vegetable broth to thin it down. I did pre-cook the pasta (as others suggested) before adding it. My soup took substantially longer to cook than the recipe said but I just kept cooking until veggies were tender, no problem. This is VERY good tasting and nutritious and even my meat eating son enjoyed it. I will definitely keep this recipe and be making it again. Thanks much for sharing a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
When I worked at Olive Garden, we cooked the pasta seperately. Then , add just before serving. Boil the pasta, drain and toss with veggie oil. Toss into soup right before serving. If you plan to store some for later, divide it before adding pasta or simply add a 1/4 cup or so of cooked pasta to each bowl before ladeling soup over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is a very good soup! I added and took some ingredients off , I went by what I had on hand. One thing that is very important is to cook your macaroni before hand and then add it to the soup, or it will absorb all your liquid. I didn't use potato, added 1 c. cooked macaroni shells, mushrooms & spinach. Lovely! Very filling and good for you! Also did it all in a crock pot so no need for the oil! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very tasty soup!! I also added more water, almost added 2 cans of tomato paste, 5 cloves garlic, half the pasta, one zucchini. I added the basil and oregano at the end. By the time we were done eating, the soup turned into a stew. I will have to add again more liquid tomorrow. Very flavorful and easy to make. one of my favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was great. I cut back on some of the veggies and used 3 potatoes, 4 carrots, and 3 stalks of celery. I doubled the broth and halved the pasta as suggested by other reviews. I also added a can of petite diced tomatoes and 1 zucchini and 1 small yellow squash. And unlike some of the other recipes on here when this recipe says 12 servings it MEANS 12 servings. Lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I too cut back on the carrot, potatoes, and celery, though left onion and garlic the same (how can you ever have too much onion and garlic?) I like to chop and add as I go, so start with the onion, saute while chopping the garlic, add the garlic, etc...Then I eye-balled the liquids to my taste preference. It's soup, there is no need to follow directions and amounts exactly! I took other people's advice and cooked the pasta separately and added a bunch of spinach, as it was in my fridge. I only had fresh basil, so dried oregano went in along with a bay leaf. I love diced tomatoes, so added those too. I thought it was a great basic soup recipe that is ideal for substitutions, additions, and experimentation according to taste. A garnish of parmesan is the ticket. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This soup is wonderful and very filling. I did end up using more broth maybe up to 24 oz more, per another reviewer. Glad I did so I didn't end up with stew the next day, it was still soup. I will continue to make this soup, I love it with the small change, this freezes well too. Grated parmesan cheese is wonderful on this after ladled into bowls, and crusty bread is a must! Thanks for submitting (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was delicious and super filling! (I omitted the pasta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I'm not giving it a 5 until I figure out the right proportions for this recipe. Soup ended up like a stew, as another reviewer wrote. I like the flavor, but the liquid pretty much disappeared once I put in the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Pretty good. I like thick soup so I didnt mind that it got even thicker after it sat. The flavor was just a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States