Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I've made this for years. I always add more kidney and cannelini beans. I leave out the pasta and cook it separately so it doesn't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is a great basic recipe to adjust to your preferences. For people saying there was "too much veggies," I see part of the issue that it lists number of vegetables rather than the measurements: Use your judgment, just pay attention to the ratios. For those saying it's "bland", like any recipe you have to tweak things to your taste. I simmered it with crushed red pepper flakes, added black pepper, used dry basil and fresh marjoram and Italian parsley from my garden. I *always* sautee garlic and onion first, until they carmelize. Chop the onion, add to the oil, simmer while chopping garlic, add that to the oil, chop other veggies. Rather than tomato paste I used leftover homemade pizza sauce. Used tomato bouillon cube and water in place of broth because that's what I had on hand. The recommendations to use V8 are good ones, have had great results doing that with minestrone in the past. I think the recipe calls for way too much salt. Hubby has high BP so I didn't add any to the recipe, just salted the bowl lightly. Parmesean on top is a must! Had potatoes on hand, but I think zucchini would be better in its place. Next time will take the recommendation of pre-cooking the pasta. I've always had the problem that my minestrone ends up drying up (easily fixed with more broth the next day) so I appreciate the tip! Overall this is a fantastic basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
5 stars for the soup base - 4 1/2 stars overall ... not sure if all my veggies were jumbo sized or what, but after adding everything there was waaaaay too much stuff not enough broth, I had to go back and make more broth. I'll definitely use this recipe again, just maybe use half of all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a good basic soup. I made it really close to the recipe but I omited the potatoes (was out and with noodles didnt really need them), I added Italian parsley (I had some and needed to use it up), and I only used about 1 and 1/4 cup of noodles. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing, m. Edit: I forgot I used beef broth because I couldnt find veggie broth at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Like others, I agree that this one calls for too much pasta & potatoes for the amount of liquid. However, the overall flavor is very good & you can play around with the ingredients! I made these changes: used 3 potatoes, 3 stalks celery, 5 cloves of garlic, 1T dried basil (didn't have any fresh on hand), about 1.5T salt, and 1/4 tsp ground white pepper. I cooked the pasta separately (used small sea shells) and placed the hot pasta in the bowls before pouring the soup over it. This makes the amount of liquid called for in the soup just about right and keeps the pasta from becomming mush in leftovers. Store the pasta & soup separately or make just enough pasta for each meal and you always have fresh minestrone at hand! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was wonderful soup! And made a ton so I will freeze it and have lunches for the next several days! After reading the reviews, I increased the vegetable broth by using a 32 oz container of the broth. I also used cooked pasta, 2 cups, instead of putting it in there uncooked. And I omitted the celery, just because I don't really care for it. Some of the most delicious ministrone I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Soup was yummy but it was missing a bit of soul...so I added a few dashes of hot sauce. That did the trick! There are no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPYDEYCENTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
We made this exactly as the recipe stated and there was no broth at all. The flavor was ok, but kind of dull. It wasn't as good as restaurant minestrone. I was dissapointed. I might try this again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I used this recipe as a base for my soup and ended up with something fantastic! I made the following changes: used chicken broth instead of veggie broth; tomato sauce instead of tomato paste; and canned green beans (drained) instead of kidney beans. I also skipped adding macaroni since I figured the potatoes added enough starch to the soup; I didn't miss the pasta, but my boyfriend did. Also, since it's the middle of winter and I didn't feel like paying an arm and a leg for fresh herbs, I used dried Italian seasoning. A great recipe, and easy to change according to your preferences. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This didn't work for me. It was way underseasoned and, after the macaroni cooked, had no broth left in it at all. Flavor was also missing. It probably would have been better to saute the onions and garlic until browned before adding the rest of the ingredients. I'll pass on this minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States