Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Not enough liquid. Way too many vegetables and maccaroni and not nearly enough broth. I recommend double the vegetable broth and half the potatoes and maccaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm rewriting this review because I made the minestrone again and it is SOGOOD! Last time I made it, the liquid disappeared within an hour or two of taking the pot off of the stove. I mean it was totally gone--like a casserole or something. So here's what I changed this time: I used 3 potatoes, 3 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, one quite-small onion, 4 cloves garlic, 16 oz of veggie broth, 1-1/4 cups macaroni, and dried herbs instead of fresh (same quantities). All the other ingredients were the same. I heated the olive oil and cooked the onion and garlic for maybe 5 minutes, then added the rest of the chopped veggies and let them cook together for a few minutes. I think it tastes better that way. I had to cook longer than 30 minutes, and the macaroni took longer than 10 minutes as well. There isn't a lot of liquid but it's much better than last time. If it disappears again I'll add more veggie broth. Using smaller quantities of vegetables makes a much more manageable-sized soup and I don't think we'll have to throw any away this time. It also tastes better when there's more liquid. With these modifications, I really love this recipe! Thanks Corrigan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I just tried it for the first time b/c its cold and rainy outside and it just sounded good. I didn't have all the exact ingredients so I used what I had on hand. I used pinto beans instead of kidney, chicken broth instead of veg., italian seasoning instead of basil and oregano, and frozen garlic and parmesan potatoes. We enjoyed a big bowl full accompanied by some fresh cornbread and it hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Simple - Simple- Which is what i like! I didnt add potato and put in a bunch of vegis I had in the freezer and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
A great meal for cold autumn nights. Within an hour or so most of the broth disappeared, but it still made delicious 'stewy' leftovers. Instead of water I used vegetable broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was easy, delicious and full of great veggies! I am a home schooling mommy of 4 and this was a great comfort meal on a rainy and cold day. Thank you and G-d bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
After reading the reviews...I also adjusted the recipe. I only used 2 potatoes; and 2 carrots. I added a can of green beans and sliced up a fresh zucchini. I didn't use celery. I used a can of diced tomato instead of tomato paste. I used 2 large cans vegetable broth. Instead of adding water...I added 3 cups of V8 Hot and Spicy Juice. Instead of fresh herbs...I used 2 tsp. Italian Seasoning. I only used 1 cup of small pasta. The V8 really added a nice spicy taste and the soup turned out great; especially the leftovers! My family loved it...and I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I love how this soup just naturally thickens on its own. It has the perfect consistency! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was a great soup for a cold day. Only change I made was to use beef broth instead of vegetable broth. Also just cut down on the liquids so we wouldn't have so much. I also added a small can of V8 to beef up the tomato flavor and a few extra spices for overall seasoning. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Taste is 5 star but am giving this 3 Stars because of the misinformation when it comes to the ingredient amounts. I made this as directed except for using just 1 cup of elbow macaroni. Makes a lot so I sent some to neighbors. When I took mine out to serve the next day I couldn't believe it. There was NO broth left. The macaroni had absorbed it ALL and I didn't even use the full amount of macaroni. I called my neighbors and they said they enjoyed the STEW - too late to send them over a can or two more of broth to add to it. This soup needs a minimum of 24oz. more of liquid - I would use vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States