Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Not enough liquid. Way too many vegetables and maccaroni and not nearly enough broth. I recommend double the vegetable broth and half the potatoes and maccaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm rewriting this review because I made the minestrone again and it is SOGOOD! Last time I made it, the liquid disappeared within an hour or two of taking the pot off of the stove. I mean it was totally gone--like a casserole or something. So here's what I changed this time: I used 3 potatoes, 3 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, one quite-small onion, 4 cloves garlic, 16 oz of veggie broth, 1-1/4 cups macaroni, and dried herbs instead of fresh (same quantities). All the other ingredients were the same. I heated the olive oil and cooked the onion and garlic for maybe 5 minutes, then added the rest of the chopped veggies and let them cook together for a few minutes. I think it tastes better that way. I had to cook longer than 30 minutes, and the macaroni took longer than 10 minutes as well. There isn't a lot of liquid but it's much better than last time. If it disappears again I'll add more veggie broth. Using smaller quantities of vegetables makes a much more manageable-sized soup and I don't think we'll have to throw any away this time. It also tastes better when there's more liquid. With these modifications, I really love this recipe! Thanks Corrigan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a really great recipe. I just tried it for the first time b/c its cold and rainy outside and it just sounded good. I didn't have all the exact ingredients so I used what I had on hand. I used pinto beans instead of kidney, chicken broth instead of veg., italian seasoning instead of basil and oregano, and frozen garlic and parmesan potatoes. We enjoyed a big bowl full accompanied by some fresh cornbread and it hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Simple - Simple- Which is what i like! I didnt add potato and put in a bunch of vegis I had in the freezer and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
A great meal for cold autumn nights. Within an hour or so most of the broth disappeared, but it still made delicious 'stewy' leftovers. Instead of water I used vegetable broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe was easy, delicious and full of great veggies! I am a home schooling mommy of 4 and this was a great comfort meal on a rainy and cold day. Thank you and G-d bless you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
After reading the reviews...I also adjusted the recipe. I only used 2 potatoes; and 2 carrots. I added a can of green beans and sliced up a fresh zucchini. I didn't use celery. I used a can of diced tomato instead of tomato paste. I used 2 large cans vegetable broth. Instead of adding water...I added 3 cups of V8 Hot and Spicy Juice. Instead of fresh herbs...I used 2 tsp. Italian Seasoning. I only used 1 cup of small pasta. The V8 really added a nice spicy taste and the soup turned out great; especially the leftovers! My family loved it...and I will definately make this again. Thanks for a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I love how this soup just naturally thickens on its own. It has the perfect consistency! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was a great soup for a cold day. Only change I made was to use beef broth instead of vegetable broth. Also just cut down on the liquids so we wouldn't have so much. I also added a small can of V8 to beef up the tomato flavor and a few extra spices for overall seasoning. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Taste is 5 star but am giving this 3 Stars because of the misinformation when it comes to the ingredient amounts. I made this as directed except for using just 1 cup of elbow macaroni. Makes a lot so I sent some to neighbors. When I took mine out to serve the next day I couldn't believe it. There was NO broth left. The macaroni had absorbed it ALL and I didn't even use the full amount of macaroni. I called my neighbors and they said they enjoyed the STEW - too late to send them over a can or two more of broth to add to it. This soup needs a minimum of 24oz. more of liquid - I would use vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States