Corrigan's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a very healthy recipe, what with all the vegetables. However, we found it to be a little bland. Were I too make it again, I would definitely add additional spices: Italian seasoning, maybe a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes, something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was excellent. It had a lot more flavor than I expected. I made exactly as written but I intended to eat it throughout the week so I boiled the pasta but stored it separately until I was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
simple and yummy- I left out basil and oragano and used northern beans instead of kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Pretty good. Wasn't as flavorful as I'd hoped-left me thinking it needs cheese tortellini instead of regular pasta..or italian sausage or something to liven it up. As others suggested, I added the pasta only to the serving bowls not the entire pot. Will tweak and madge again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Fantastic! I used only 2 potatoes. Used an 8 oz box of macaroni noodles, and added 14 oz can diced basil and oregano tomatoes. Also used Better than Bouillon veggie bouillon (from a jar) instead of canned broth. Added fresh parsley, and served with Parmesan cheese. Made Focaccia bread to go with it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Good stuff. I left out the pasta as I'm sensitive to gluten. I took other reviewers suggestions and sauteed the onions first, then added the garlic. I used 16 oz. of vegetable broth and then put in enough water til it looked right. I used dried herbs. I had to cook it longer to get the veggies soft. Leftovers were great. It made a LOT of soup - I gave decent portions away to two friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The result was good 'cause I ended up adding mushrooms, and sauteing them first with garlic and onions, then added all the rest to the broth. My hubby loved it! Gave it 4 stars 'cause i don't like how the recipe calls for dumping all together and pretty much just boiling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was fantaastic. I took the reviewers' advice of cutting down the amount of beans and I only added the pasta when serving so that whatever was left over, I could bottle and put away without it all getting soaked up. I've made this a couple of times and it has always come out a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was a great soup with a couple of modifications. The tomato paste was way too strong for my taste so I discarded about a cup of the liquid and added extra stock. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable and left out the kidney beans. I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the noodles separately and added to soup just before serving. A great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This soup was good, but adjustments had to be made. The first time I made it there was way too much pasta. I followed the recipe exactly and it was good, but there was no broth, the pasta soaked it all up. The second time I made it, I did not use water, but veggie stock instead and I used about 1 1/2 cups pasta. I think next time I will decrease that to 1 cup of pasta or serve the soup over cooked pasta instead of cooking the pasta in the soup, as another person suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States