Corny Ham and Potato Scallop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This was really a quick preparing dish. I didn't have any green peppers or minced onions so I used a small white onion chopped. I went with Amanda's idea and added 1/2 cup of water to the soup mix. It just didn't look like it was going to be enough of it to add to the mixture. Now I did cook it in the crockpot but turned the heat up to high and it only took 4 hrs to cook. Next time I'll add other veggies like carrots or even broccoli to it. I think the type of ham you use also decides the saltiness. Mine hardly had any salt in it and I think thats what made the difference on the flavor. Was very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Great idea for leftover Easter ham, Mary. I was worried that the crockpot would make this dish too soupy. For this reason, I put it all together, topped it with corn flake crumbs, and baked in a casserole for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Yum. I think this would make a nice brunch entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
My family didn't like the canned soup and corn. They definitely detracted from this recipe. Next time I will use fresh corn and make my own cheese sauce. This is sort of a typical midwestern type meal - starchy and filling but a little bland and uninspired. It's quick and easy though, and with a tweak or two here and there and possibly the addition of some spices, could be pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I baked this in the oven, rather than use the crock pot, and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariposa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I also added one cup of carrots. This was a hit with my family. It was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Very good! Great way to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I used pre-cubed cooked ham and it turned out overcooked. I would probably add it later in the cooking time for better taste. Make sure to spray pot with non-stick cooking spray so the potaotes won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Such an easy and tasty dish! It was a bit dry the first time I made it, my slow cooker seems to run a bit hot so I added a 1/2 cup of water and it came out perfect the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
GREAT! I omit the green pepper and add frozen broccoli about two hours before finished. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My whole family ate this up! I used some leftover canned ham I had made the night before with pineapple and brown sugar and around a 1/4 of a real onion instead of the instant. I also added a little salt and pepper. I stirred once about 3/4 of the way through cooking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Helena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States