Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
my friends and i did a trial run of this recipe for thanksgiving, it was a fun recipe to do with a crowd!!! our centerpieces turned out SUPER and we will be putting bread and rolls in it for dinner. We also think that this recipe makes a wonderful hostess gift!! Maybe even a house warming gift filled with mouthwatering rolls, breads, muffins !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
this was a really BAD recipie. It fell apart and turned out really badly. IT looked awful when it was finished and it was a waste of money to buy the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Easy if you follow directions. Can't forget to spray foil and must use the breadsticks. Biscuts do not work. Will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I've made this twice (Thanksgiving & Christmas), and I got raves both times! I filled it with every veggie I could think of (raw asparagus and green onions looked especially nice), and I served dip on the side. All the veggies were eaten; then my mother-in-law asked if she could keep it to break up & serve with chili after Christmas! I'm a floral designer, so this year I'd like to make one and varnish it to keep for a silk flower arrangement! Just follow the directions, take your time, and don't be nervous...you'll surprise yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This cute little center piece was the talk of my dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
How cool! This took 3 of us to make - 1 to hold, 1 to lay the breadsticks, and 1 to supervise! I think the key is to spray the foil *lightly* with cooking spray - I sprayed it thick, and the breadsticks tended to slide off. We ended up not using the egg at the end of each breadstick, as that made it slippery as well; however, we did use it to glaze. It turned out so cute, and we had a blast making it. Note that you can make it up to a week and a half early - after that, it starts to mildew. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
My 17-year-old daughter made this for our centerpiece last Thanksgiving. It was a bit messy and didn't look very good when first put together but after baking turned out fabulous. We will do it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Definitely a 2 person job. I had problems with this. I couldn't get the dough to stick very well and when I baked it it all fell apart in the oven. I want to perfect it though. I could tell it would be really pretty if I can get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This looked very impressive as a centerpiece. I cut out a section of plastic wrap and put the cornucopia on the plastic on the table. I used a half of a red cabbage for my dip container. The dough is VERY SLIPPERY, I recommend two people do this and you have to work very quickly. One more helpful hint. I did not spray the foil with the cooking spray, instead I used that Reynolds Release foil with the non-stick side on the outside that the dough would touch, worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICOLLE WRIGHT
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Don't use the glaze to attach the bread sticks together and only for final glaze. I also sprinkle with sesame seeds after glaze. Lower the oven temp to 325 and increase the bake time to up to 1 1/2 hours depend on how light to golden brown you want the bread form to look. Family raves about this and askes me to make it every year.Also make the day before and keep form in and wrap real well when cool with plastic wrap saves time for holiday cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States