Cornucopia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by debbieann
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Absolutely stunning and way too easy! I cannot wait to display this on my table on Thanksgiving day! I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and glazed it completely. Baked for exactly 45 mins. - it is so gorgeous! Thank you for a genius of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I stumbled onto this and decide to make it for our family Thanksgiving. To me, the most difficult part was getting the tin-foil to cooperate when stuffing and trying to make the cornucopia shape. Once I accomplished that, wrapping the bread was a BREEZE! As other mentioned, I also DID NOT use the egg wash to attach the strips; instead, choosing to press the pieces together. This is a FUN project with the end result being very impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was amazing!! I was a little nervous about trying this since the directions seemed complicated but it was so easy! I do recommend having another person help you though. A second set of hands makes it easier! I didn't have any problems with the dough being to slippery or falling off during baking which I was worried about. I didn't use the glaze as glue, I just stuck the bread right to the foil & then used the glaze over the whole thing when I was done. I also only needed 2 containers of dough. I put fruit in the cornucopia & then I made royal icing flowers & decorated the whole thing, it was beautiful! Everyone was sooo impressed! I'm going to make this a tradition in my family! Thanks for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie Jones
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
i only used 2 cans of bread sticks, and i opted out on the egg wash to use as "glue". It turned out beautifully. Thank you for such an easy recipe yet something that looks like it came from the bakery! Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I think I made mine a bit smaller than others, but I ended up using 1 package of Fresh and Easy Pizza dough. I rolled it out and cut 1" strips. I tucked each strip under the last as I came to the end of it instead of using the egg wash to seal. Brushed with egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Looks amazing. Made it for a friend this morning & will make it again this week for our Thanksgiving dinner. Easy to do, but I took it out of the oven after 25 minutes. Wish I read the directions closer before I tried to take the foil out! I'll definitely let it cool before trying to remove the foil. Saw this same thing in a local bakery about 10 years ago---$75 for this size !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Turned out great! Very easy to make and looks beautiful. I made it for the Thanksgiving table and am going to fill it will different kinds of mini-muffins. Thank you for sharing Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this as a trial run for Thanksgiving. I used a disposable cookie sheet, wrapped it with foil and extended it up at the end for the "tail", covered it with strips of French bread dough I made in the bread machine. It turned out great and wasn't nearly as much work as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Szabo
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Worth a try, so much easier than you would think! Very impressive, you would be so proud after you make it. I Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this to use as a Thanksgiving centerpiece. Everyone thought it was adorable and I got a lot of compliments, but they didn't know that I had covered up a hole because the breadsticks had slid after I put it in the oven. My advice would be to check on it after a short time, while you could still fix it if holes appear where the bread sticks should overlap. Otherwise, it wasn't that hard. Would also recommend 2 people for the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cornucopia

See how to make an impressive centerpiece for the Thanksgiving table.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States